Page 2 of 37 FirstFirst 123456789101112 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 362

Thread: AMP Wishlist Thread

  1. #11
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    61
    GPS nav would be excellent!

    Quote Originally Posted by Sharkbite86
    You can have GE max out the cash size so that whereever tou go it will store on the disk but that a poor excuse really
    I've been doing that, but it is a PITA to do routing and then let GE fly it out, overnight for long trips, before being able to take the laptop to the car.

    Quote Originally Posted by aychamo
    re: Google Earth, isn't a big problem that none of the pictures would be cached? So would have you have to have internet access in the car?
    I just installed a KR-1 Mobile Router in my wife's company car so she can use Google Earth to try to find insured's houses while on the road (it's not as fast as broadband, but so far it works suprisingly well in the middle of nowhere NE/IA/MO). Of course the company pays for the wireless card, so that helps!

    On a side note, a guy by the handle of tz over at http://www.evdoforums.com/ (currently down for mnx, when it's up check out the KR-1 forum) rewrote the router firmware so we could hook up a Garmin GPS to the KR-1 and Google Earth connects to a kmz file on the router to show her where she is and enable point to point routing on the go.

  2. #12
    Constant Bitrate Sharkbite86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by hammer32
    I just installed a KR-1 Mobile Router in my wife's company car so she can use Google Earth to try to find insured's houses while on the road (it's not as fast as broadband, but so far it works suprisingly well in the middle of nowhere NE/IA/MO). Of course the company pays for the wireless card, so that helps!
    wow that is an expensive setup i must say. EV-DO is very a expensive service and IMO not worth the cost if you were only going to use it in a car. I would much rather have some kind of data plan on a cell phone and have the comp connect to the cell to the internet... It would not work out too well for GE though because of the high data requirements.



    So I guess im stumped. Unless someone knows where I can get a fully cached map of the US (or wherever) for GE were basically screwed lol .

    EDIT: There is also the issue with updates that google might give...if we hang on to a cashed version for too long it will become outdated... and thats never a good thing
    MacCar progress:
    Planning:-----> [||||||||||||||||||||] 70%
    Parts:---------> [||||||||||||||||||||] 0%
    Construction:-> [||||||||||||||||||||] 0%

    Car broken into... progress is basically zip...

  3. #13
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by Sharkbite86
    ...I would much rather have some kind of data plan on a cell phone and have the comp connect to the cell to the internet... It would not work out too well for GE though because of the high data requirements.
    The router also accepts a USB connection to a cell phone for 1x and EVDO connections. It is a bit expensive, but so is buying a Mac just for my car

  4. #14
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    262
    The Cash thing doesn't sound too bad, you use the airport extreme in your car to sync to your wireless connection to sync to your home while your in the garage, map the area and then go. I mean for long road trips yeah you'd have to park it for a while, but it would still work.

  5. #15
    Constant Bitrate Sharkbite86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by hammer32
    The router also accepts a USB connection to a cell phone for 1x and EVDO connections. It is a bit expensive, but so is buying a Mac just for my car
    or you could just use a bluetooth phone

    EDIT: and I cant find anything on torrents for google cache... so I don't know what to do.. I guess I will just have to map out my whole area where I live, and for long trips just map it out before hand like lightning said...
    MacCar progress:
    Planning:-----> [||||||||||||||||||||] 70%
    Parts:---------> [||||||||||||||||||||] 0%
    Construction:-> [||||||||||||||||||||] 0%

    Car broken into... progress is basically zip...

  6. #16
    FLAC sdashiki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Floreeda
    Posts
    1,085
    Why does no one ever recommend:

    OBDII support


    I mean music, dvds, games, radio, wifi, all well and good. but this is a CARputer, yes? Lets incorporate the CAR into it?

    OBDII support brings alot more to the table when it comes to the things AMP would be able to do.

    pyobd unfortunately is all I can find on OSX side (eventhough python aint OSX)
    (All done)
    iPad Mini 128GB, RF 600.5 amp, JL12W0V2, 8 Infinity Components

  7. #17
    CarFrontEnd Creator iamgnat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NoVA
    Posts
    867
    Quote Originally Posted by sdashiki
    OBDII support brings alot more to the table when it comes to the things AMP would be able to do.
    I agree. ODBII is something that should come into play at some point.

    It is much harder to write code for hardware if you don't have said hardware though (this would also apply to GPS, XM, etc..).

    Also there is the issue of integrating it into the code base. I know it will hurt the users to not get updates for awhile, but I really think that we need to stop development and clean up/redesign the code. No offense intended to Bobby (this is his first App, and my ideas about it come from years of experience), but right now AMP is very monolithic in how it does things. This makes it harder and uglier to do things that it wasn't originally designed for.

    The good news is that Bobby and I have been talking about how to clean it up, we just need to determine the best method.

    -dave
    My pathetic worklog.
    CarFrontEnd (now it's own sub-forum!!!!)

  8. #18
    AMP Creator aychamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    505
    Quote Originally Posted by Sharkbite86
    and I cant find anything on torrents for google cashe...
    You'll probably want to search for "cache"
    -

  9. #19
    AMP Creator aychamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    505
    Quote Originally Posted by iamgnat
    Also there is the issue of integrating it into the code base. I know it will hurt the users to not get updates for awhile, but I really think that we need to stop development and clean up/redesign the code. No offense intended to Bobby (this is his first App, and my ideas about it come from years of experience), but right now AMP is very monolithic in how it does things. This makes it harder and uglier to do things that it wasn't originally designed for.
    Hell no there's no offense! I completely agree it needs to be broken up. I should probably upload my current version of AMP (with the new random code, progress indicators on import, and the file importer), and the source, and then start the work of breaking it into manageable units, and then work on features.

    This will be good for everyone because it will hopefully lead to a leaner, quicker, and better functioning AMP. (And it will be less of a headache to add things in!)
    -

  10. #20
    Low Bitrate jdisenberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    78
    I have no problem waiting awhile for other "modules" to come into existence. If I am waiting for a better, smaller, quicker version to come out. The version that is out right now still blows everything else out of the water. The only things I would like to see are an eject button, GPS, and ODBII support would also be nice, but I am willing to wait for these.

    This application is awsome and does everything so well already, that I can still use this version to run my mac until another comes out.

    I say: take your time, improve the code, that way changes in the future won't take as long to come out. It will probably be easier for third parties to come in and make plug-ins for it as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Engine Noise due to ground loop or amp?
    By matt11601 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 08-26-2009, 09:38 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2006, 11:32 PM
  3. Brand new AMP, Busted..
    By Biograph1001 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-19-2006, 11:54 AM
  4. amp pop
    By dan__wright in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-16-2005, 05:24 AM
  5. Amp setup. Heat concern.
    By d_sellers1 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2004, 10:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •