Page 21 of 37 FirstFirst ... 111213141516171819202122232425262728293031 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 210 of 362

Thread: AMP Wishlist Thread

  1. #201
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14

    Sirius Solution

    Ok...I have the dll that is written in .NET by MitchJS at www.rush2112.net. If you are not familiar with his work he created a drop in board for the Apline SIR-ALP1 tuner that allows you to connect to the sirius tuner via usb port and control the tuner (they sell this board here on mp3car.com). He also has made some applications for a windows system that allow him to control the board. I have used the Lutz Roeder's .NET Reflector decompiler to look at the source of this dll and I think it would be the perfect guidline by which to write a cocoa version. He also gave me a demo program that has a debug window we could use to see how the code interacts with the tuner.

    Is there anyone that has Cocoa experience and can understand the .NET code enough to write something that amp can use? If so PM me and i will share the dll with you. The only reason i am not posting the dll on the forum is because i had to PM MitchJS to get it and because of this i believe he doesnt want it widely distributed.

    I have an SIR-ALP1 tuner and am willing to purchase the drop in board to test any development.

  2. #202
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    36
    Here are some pictures of the screen on my Lilliput 7" monitor. Let me know if you need more pictures.
    http://www.freewebs.com/blaforce/photos.htm

  3. #203
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14

    Traffic information

    How about something that gives traffic information. There are many websites out there that give up-to-date traffic information. This page could work in conjunction with wardriving... anytime you are connected to the internet the page would get the latest information and continue to update while the connection is up. If it was disconnected from the internet it would store the last update until it can could connect to the internet agian. I will be updating this post with websites that i find....

    www.traffic.com (has rss feeds for different metropolitan areas, each individual can sign up for free and get customized rss feeds based on different routes you setup on their website)

  4. #204
    Constant Bitrate Sharkbite86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    California
    Posts
    191
    haha hey thats not such a bad idea . However I think that should be placed below GPS on a very large list of to-dos for AMP .
    MacCar progress:
    Planning:-----> [||||||||||||||||||||] 70%
    Parts:---------> [||||||||||||||||||||] 0%
    Construction:-> [||||||||||||||||||||] 0%

    Car broken into... progress is basically zip...

  5. #205
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    262
    something like this: http://developer.yahoo.com/traffic/

    Get Real-Time Traffic Alerts with Traffic Web Services from Yahoo!
    The Traffic Web Services from Yahoo! enable you to access real-time traffic alerts information for a given location. Build applications that use this dynamic traffic alert data to help you plan optimal routes and keep on top of your commute. Traffic data also makes a great addition to a mashup with Yahoo! Maps.

  6. #206
    AMP Creator aychamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    505
    That's a nice idea. But, you can almost already do this. Just goto one of these webpages (ie, traffic.com) and put in your zipcode, and it generates a page for you based on your zipcode. Visit that page in AMP's browser and add it to your bookmarks. And then you have it anytime you need it.

    I see what you are saying about doing it auutomatically, but yeah, that's far down the list
    -

  7. #207
    Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    36
    Quote Originally Posted by aychamo View Post
    That's a nice idea. But, you can almost already do this. Just goto one of these webpages (ie, traffic.com) and put in your zipcode, and it generates a page for you based on your zipcode. Visit that page in AMP's browser and add it to your bookmarks. And then you have it anytime you need it.

    I see what you are saying about doing it auutomatically, but yeah, that's far down the list
    Ok, I'll add my 2 cents on this one. I think this is a great idea especially after having used the Traffic feature with my TomTom software on my Treo 650. The nice thing about the TomTom version is that it gives you traffic information based on the route it calculated. It also gives you an option to route around slow traffic. Granted this is a $150 piece of software and an additional cost for the service but I find it extremely valuable during my morning commute.

    I do agree that this is a pipe dream feature and should be pretty far down the list. However I do think there would be a huge call for this service.

  8. #208
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by aychamo View Post
    That's a nice idea. But, you can almost already do this. Just goto one of these webpages (ie, traffic.com) and put in your zipcode, and it generates a page for you based on your zipcode. Visit that page in AMP's browser and add it to your bookmarks. And then you have it anytime you need it.

    I see what you are saying about doing it auutomatically, but yeah, that's far down the list
    yeah, I meant like have a traffic button in AMP that automatically when pressed gets all that info and displays it in a black and yellow screen. that would be trick! All you'd have to do is put in a zip code and mile radius you want it to check and that way when you're about to drive some place local, you could have the info at a press of a button..

  9. #209
    AMP Creator aychamo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    505
    Quote Originally Posted by LightningMac View Post
    yeah, I meant like have a traffic button in AMP that automatically when pressed gets all that info and displays it in a black and yellow screen. that would be trick! All you'd have to do is put in a zip code and mile radius you want it to check and that way when you're about to drive some place local, you could have the info at a press of a button..
    Yeah, it would be pretty simple to do. You would just make a plugin, check for internet access, get the zipcode or whatever you want, and load that webpage and parse what it gives you and display it on the screen.

    There's got to be some other developers out there that can implement this. MacUsers? Gnat? Someone?
    -

  10. #210
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    262
    sounds like this would make it easier to implement, has the code on how to do it and the request url as well...

    http://developer.yahoo.com/traffic/rest/V1/index.html

Similar Threads

  1. Engine Noise due to ground loop or amp?
    By matt11601 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 08-26-2009, 09:38 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2006, 11:32 PM
  3. Brand new AMP, Busted..
    By Biograph1001 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-19-2006, 11:54 AM
  4. amp pop
    By dan__wright in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-16-2005, 05:24 AM
  5. Amp setup. Heat concern.
    By d_sellers1 in forum Car Audio
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2004, 10:58 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •