Page 15 of 18 FirstFirst ... 56789101112131415161718 LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 171

Thread: Innotrends CA-FI on order, will review

  1. #141
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by cdoyle View Post
    Looks like it's marked down to $888 now
    https://store.ca-fi.com/

    Android 2.3 is Gingerbread isn't it?
    I just wish these things could be upgraded.

    I think I'm going to pick one up this winter, or next spring. I'll have one before I start driving the car next summer either way.
    yes it is gingerbread. I'm with you, for the price it's hard to justify sacrificing anything, and it would be nice to be able to make some updates but difficult to support the 3rd party hardware for radio/bluetooth etc. hopefully there will be some kind of update process soon. there are a lot of additional selling points for me on this unit vs the older gen but i still have a hard time throwing another $900 down unless i can get my money back on my old unit, and there are still a couple things i would like to see that i'm not sure were addressed with this update

  2. #142
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    325
    I asked the folks at CA-FI a lot of questions about the new model. I see they already jacked the price back up to regular price in the store. The thing that bothered me the most is that it's $1k and doesn't come with any navigation software. I know that most of them are pretty cheap, but I'd expect it to come ready to go. I did try Sygic on my tablet, but the gps receiver is pretty flaky on it so I could never get it to work properly.
    Nick - 08 GG Element
    Custom 3D-CAD Design, Reverse Engineering and Fabrication

  3. #143
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27
    Anxiously awaiting reviews of the new version. Although I feel like I should be able to mold a Nexus 7 into my dash and mount a head unit remotely for a whole lot less than $999. It takes a pro to do molds that look OEM though, so easier said than done. If reviews are good, I'll probably order it.

  4. #144
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1
    Have been informed by Ca-Fi that the guys have sent out my new unit. Hopefully I have it here middle of next week. Will post a review as soon as I have unpacked it.
    Last edited by C3PO; 09-24-2012 at 08:05 PM.

  5. #145
    Newbie Ca-Fi Systems's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    2
    Hey guys,
    holidays here are over now so we are back in office and working on a surprise for next week.
    Stay tuned and drive safe.

  6. #146
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by Ca-Fi Systems View Post
    Hey guys,
    holidays here are over now so we are back in office and working on a surprise for next week.
    Stay tuned and drive safe.
    awesome! looking forward to it

  7. #147
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27
    Times up. What's the surprise? I still haven't found any official review on the new system, and I thought it was supposed to ship at the end of August. I understand schedules slip on complicated projects like this but would be great to get an update.

  8. #148
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    27
    The volume knob in my 2005 C6 is now erratic in operation. I want a double din replacement that shows album art and full Pandora controls wirelessly from a phone. This list is pretty small (must support SPP). Really, the only one that doesn't have some inane limitation is the Sony XAV-601BT. So the Ca-Fi has maybe a week to reveal itself or I order the Sony. The clock is ticking.

  9. #149
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    200
    Quote Originally Posted by jdwk View Post
    The volume knob in my 2005 C6 is now erratic in operation. I want a double din replacement that shows album art and full Pandora controls wirelessly from a phone. This list is pretty small (must support SPP). Really, the only one that doesn't have some inane limitation is the Sony XAV-601BT. So the Ca-Fi has maybe a week to reveal itself or I order the Sony. The clock is ticking.
    Here's an option: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...liZXJhdG9yIl0.

    works great for me, full control. i picked up the app radio 2 for ~$350

  10. #150
    Maximum Bitrate
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Grandville, MI
    Posts
    615
    This message is to the people involved with providing these units.. I realize they are viewing this thread and I hope someone will contact me.

    I am a Software Engineering student and I am actually working on a project like this for personal use using very similar hardware...

    Using this as a base for my system would be MUCH more productive than trying to reproduce it all piecemeal.

    I have Freescale development software and hardware and will be building similar systems for myself based off both the i.mx53 and i.mx6 platforms. Just attended one of Freescale's developmental training sessions this past week. This unit can't replace all that I am doing but will save me about 6 months work if I can get a hold of one. Based on the comments mentioned on here I am sure the projects I am working on would be well received.

    Also on another note... If anyone has the GM information about the PID's etc I will see what I can do to make the OEM radio unnecessary.

    Please contact me via PM on here.

Similar Threads

  1. anyone order from
    By morbidking in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2008, 06:45 AM
  2. mp3 track order (showing up out of order)
    By Sylan in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 01:03 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 09:10 AM
  5. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 06:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •