Page 3 of 18 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 171

Thread: Innotrends CA-FI on order, will review

  1. #21
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by cdoyle View Post
    Thanks for posting the vid, looks good so far.

    Any ideas to why it's not booting up now though?

    When you get it working again, the main thing I want to be able to do this is be able to tether my internet from my phone via bluetooth to the cafi.
    Do you think this would be something you could test?
    I'm also interested in this.

    I'm also interested in which modules you got and how they work. There isn't much documentation on the Ca-Fi site.

  2. #22
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    as of right now i'm not sure what the issue is but i doubt i'll be able to get it to boot again, at the time of the video i forgot to hook up the remote wire for my booster amp so i wasn't getting any sound, after i went back and hooked it in i was un-able to get it to boot up again. i have everything pretty well insulated and definately didn't short anything so unless it's super sensitive to some ESD i would have picked up somewhere i'm out of idea's.

    my old head unit runs just fine off of the same harness as does my booster amp and bluetooth car kit, all connections seem good. still working with innotrends to narrow down the issue. i didn't have time to try tethering but i did pair via bluetooth and was able to call and recieve calls, however it didn't import my contacts. i was planning on tethering via wifi hotspot off my nexus and using bluetooth for calls and OBDII data myself.

  3. #23
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    bah, apparently i'm an idiot. i hooked the unit up to a bench power supply and it booted right up, when i was hooking it up i found the ground pin bent up....since i never unhooked anything when i was adding the remote power the only reason i can think it booted up in the first place was i had the case bolted to the frame so it was grounded through there. anyways just needed to clear that up...now onto customizing

  4. #24
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    34
    ah good, glad it's working now.
    Keep us updated as you use it more.

    As for the tethering, I'm hoping to be able to use my unlimited data on my phone and use the tunein radio app as I'm driving. I have that app on my phone and really like, so hoping I can use it on the road without having to add another device to my plan.

    It's odd that it didn't have the Android Market installed. I wonder why?
    Check out my Restored 84 Camaro
    • Custom Made LED tail lights
    • Bi-Xenon HID Projectors
    • LED retrofitted instrument cluster

  5. #25
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    10
    That is awesome news!

    We need more videos now so that I can comfortably buy this thing.

  6. #26
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    you'll find a lot of units that don't come with the android market installed if they are a small brand. i think there are some copyright issues. i'm working on finding a workaround to get the market installed, im sure you can find individual APK's to install but you would have to update them manually without the market.

    the bluetooth connection allows for A2DP media streaming so that's one way. of course you wouldn't be able to control it from the CA-FI unit.

    i just got my galaxy nexus so i'll need to root it so i can use it as a hotspot...definately got a few things work out.

  7. #27
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    bingo market is up, it's and old version but i'm assuming it will update itself, even if it doesn't it should get the job done just fine.

    follow the instructions on this link, you don't have to have the files in the root folder. i just installed straight from an SD card

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1285920

  8. #28
    nbo
    nbo is offline
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1
    Ok there is wifi and optional 3g but can you connect it to the internet via your android phone??

  9. #29
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    34
    so after a couple days of playing with it, what do you think so far?
    Is it worth the money?

    Any cons that you've seen?
    Check out my Restored 84 Camaro
    • Custom Made LED tail lights
    • Bi-Xenon HID Projectors
    • LED retrofitted instrument cluster

  10. #30
    Mo' Programming Mo' Problems
    Auto Apps:loading...
    Sonicxtacy02's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodbridge, VA
    Posts
    8,173
    Blog Entries
    53
    Quote Originally Posted by nbo View Post
    Ok there is wifi and optional 3g but can you connect it to the internet via your android phone??
    Most certainly, it accepts both ad-hoc and infrastructure modes, so wifi tethering will both work fine.
    mp3Car.com Senior Tech Blogger (Want a product reviewed? Contact me.)
    Find my plugins on the MP3Car App Store!
    Follow Me on Twitter or Facebook
    Live mp3Car Facebook Chat

Similar Threads

  1. anyone order from
    By morbidking in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2008, 07:45 AM
  2. mp3 track order (showing up out of order)
    By Sylan in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 02:03 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:23 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 10:10 AM
  5. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 07:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •