Page 9 of 18 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415161718 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 171

Thread: Innotrends CA-FI on order, will review

  1. #81
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    187
    i suppose that you could although i don't know anyone who has tried and the bluetooth would be the the restriction as it only allows you to pair devices for calling and A2DP music streaming. not sure if you could add a 3rd party bluetooth dongle to the USB but i think the biggest issue is that it would need a driver for it and there is no bluetooth menu inside of the android settings.

    If your going to go the mimics route you might be better off just hooking up your phone or a tablet.

  2. #82
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Love Your Research and Reviews, lookin forward to some R&D

    Hello, new to forum; have been following ca-fi since I bought my Galaxy S2 and thought to google the idea of infotainment and android, Found Ca-fi. Wacthed your reviews before I found the forum (Zr2ee & DJ). Found Ca-fi.
    Zr2ee & DJ Boyer - Suberb Reviews. I also have been awaiting the faster unit but have alot of experience with wiring automotives (Im a GM Tech who is very anal with wiring/electrical),
    David if you would like I can send you the wiring Diagrams for your C/K Truck, send me your VIN I can spec the options.
    I have made quite a bit of research in pairing this unit to my 2011 Silverado, which has a Bose Audio Setup aswell as Onstar/XM/Reverse Cam (Mirror) & SWC,
    I do believe all of these options can easily be allocated despite wether the unit installed is the intial release or the New unit.

    Thanks Guys, Again Awesome Reviews

  3. #83
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    9
    The Problem is I cant get rid of the OEM headunit. It just controls too much of the cars functions. It's also got a funky dual pixel LCD that displays a different image for the driver and passenger.

    The reason for not using is a tablet or phone is simple. I loose too much the top of the list being Radio, DVD and steering wheel controls

  4. #84
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Well the good thing is according to the wiring diagram on the ca-fi home page under "tech specs" (not the web store) it should have connectivity to the majority of those functions, and the good thing with it being a processor based system that is open source, the code and programming can be made to run it,
    canbus language is very open source aswell.
    Name:  wirediagram.jpg
Views: 1251
Size:  39.3 KB

  5. #85
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    187
    Quote Originally Posted by punktfide View Post
    Hello, new to forum; have been following ca-fi since I bought my Galaxy S2 and thought to google the idea of infotainment and android, Found Ca-fi. Wacthed your reviews before I found the forum (Zr2ee & DJ). Found Ca-fi.
    Zr2ee & DJ Boyer - Suberb Reviews. I also have been awaiting the faster unit but have alot of experience with wiring automotives (Im a GM Tech who is very anal with wiring/electrical),
    David if you would like I can send you the wiring Diagrams for your C/K Truck, send me your VIN I can spec the options.
    I have made quite a bit of research in pairing this unit to my 2011 Silverado, which has a Bose Audio Setup aswell as Onstar/XM/Reverse Cam (Mirror) & SWC,
    I do believe all of these options can easily be allocated despite wether the unit installed is the intial release or the New unit.

    Thanks Guys, Again Awesome Reviews
    anytime, thanks for the feedback. you can never be too anal about wiring, if your no it'll bite you in the ***...no pun intended. i wouldn't mind the faster unit as well but i figured i can always turn around and re-sell this one locally once i decide to upgrade and for now it works fine for me. one thing i would like to know is how to wire up the steering wheel controls with the can bus setup, and figure out why my unit never came with a park wire. i guess i'll just have to pin it myself.

    The Problem is I cant get rid of the OEM headunit. It just controls too much of the cars functions. It's also got a funky dual pixel LCD that displays a different image for the driver and passenger.

    The reason for not using is a tablet or phone is simple. I loose too much the top of the list being Radio, DVD and steering wheel controls
    your car sounds a bit like the batmobile. if your keeping your stock headunit i'm assuming you already get DVD as well as radio and steering controls. i haven't researched the mimics in a while but if you could tap into a AUX input on your headunit and run both off of the same screen you should be able to keep at least most of your features. of course i'm assuming the dual pixel function your talking about isn't active all the time. i guess im not understanding your plan totally as i'm under the assumption you are keeping the stock screen and tapping into it via aux input for your mimics unit

  6. #86
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    If I come out in caps sorry, the dispatching software at the shop is a linux terminal intergrated into windows and requires caps, its useless.
    I think he is referring that his unit is like a GMC Terrain/Equinox style unit, which integrates dual climate hvac controls as well as vehicle information menus, DVD control (like dvd/cd) so replacing is not really feasible at this point.
    I do know for the GM Trucks that the wiring appears to be available on the Unit, Just a matter of trying it.

  7. #87
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampton, NH
    Posts
    34
    subscribed, questions to follow. Thanks for posting this info!!

  8. #88
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    9
    Sorry for the delay i'm In Australia, time zones and all that

    I have a top spec Jaguar XJ, as for options lets just say everything except spoilers.

    So far have added a vga input which will eventually have the head unit connected. This also has a scan converter to 15khz
    Have also added a screen over ride that has 3 composite inputs that are used for cameras. This is driven from the canbus.
    The reverse camera also has guidelines. The side cameras come on when the indicator and lane change radar detects an issue
    As I said the head unit screen has dual pixels. The headrests don't . Dual pixels are on all the time. So the drive can have a different image to the passenger.
    So when playing a dvd the driver cant see it, bummer but that will change. When the cameras come on the over ride is setup to only over ride the driver image not the passenger or rear screens. I've also added 2 15in screens in the back seats these are behind the tray tables in the buckets seats for the rear passengers.
    Rear passengers can have independent control of audio and video. I can set the audio to go to bluetooth headsets for the rear. I'l be installing 2 rear playstations when I work out the head unit upgrade. These and the 15in screens are for keeping the kids happy

    I'm looking to go in via the nav input getting rid of the nav unit all together. This will enable each seat to push the nav button to select the new head unit. I wont be able to have each east control it but if i can get the touch screen switched over thets ok.
    I may have to just use the mimics switcher and hack the extra head unit in the boot, removing the overlay on that and connecting to the switcher.
    It would be easier if it was able to accept bluetooth control. I'm also intouch with another supplier who is ken to get this going, so lets see

  9. #89
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Hampton, NH
    Posts
    34
    Quote Originally Posted by zr2ee View Post
    Issues to be resolved
    • announce caller ID and text messages
    • larger fonts
    • universal gesture control
    • voice searching/dialing
    • park sensing for viewing video content
    • no supplied documentation
    • Torque does not work via bluetooth
    • dimmer wire doesn't seem to work with buttons or screen
    • steering wheel control setup

    Just curious how you've made out on any of these exisiting issues? Particularly park sensing for viewing video, torque (via usb opposed to bluetooth), and steering wheel controls.
    Thanks for all the time you have put into your write up thus far!

  10. #90
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    I really wanna get one of these now to attempt these options.
    Im sure I can get all functions to work for sure on my Silverado,
    I even think I could pin my stock mic to the prop connector.
    And i know that I can wire the camera from mirror to monitor aswell
    As wire the stock bose amp inputs to rca's.

Similar Threads

  1. anyone order from
    By morbidking in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2008, 06:45 AM
  2. mp3 track order (showing up out of order)
    By Sylan in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 01:03 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 09:10 AM
  5. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 06:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •