Page 1 of 18 1234567891011 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 171

Thread: Innotrends CA-FI on order, will review

  1. #1
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204

    Innotrends CA-FI on order, will review

    *NEW 621 MODEL RELEASED* see link here for details-http://ca-fi.com/en/archives/1027

    put in an order on a innotrends CA-FI 620 unit over the weekend, it's shipping out from hong kong and i'll be reviewing the unit when it arrives. for those who haven't heard of this unit it's a dedicated double din headunit with a 6.2in 800x480 running on android. there are 2 flavors currently but only the 620 is released as of dec 1 2011. it's packed with a 800Mhz CPU, 256Mb ram

    you can find the nitty gritty here: www.ca-fi.com
    Actual supplier/manufacturer: http://www.carit.com.cn/en/
    Unit manufacturer Documentation: http://www.carit.com.cn/UploadFile/D...2016225365.pdf
    XDA development threads: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1366421
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2110546

    Name:  ca-fi-car-dock.jpg
Views: 7662
Size:  33.3 KB

    Confirmed list of working apps
    • Slacker Radio (buggy)
    • Pandora Radio
    • Android Market (custom add on link here:http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1285920 Natively supported on 621 model)
    • Swype keyboard (difficult on resistive screen)
    • Waze Navigation (buggy)
    • Big button keyboard
    • sygic navigation (buggy)
    • beautiful widgets
    • co-pilot live navigation (free version works good, haven't tested upgrade)


    Confirmed list of working features
    • Resume last run media on start up (only when using media apps that are pre-installed)
    • bluetooth hands free calling and media streaming (including internet radio I.E. pandora, slacker)
    • Wifi tethering from another device
    • Full Ipod control, sync and charging
    • media input via front mini USB port
    • Charging via front and rear USB ports


    Issues to be resolved
    • announce caller ID and text messages (doesn't work unless left in A2DP streaming mode)
    • larger fonts
    • universal gesture control
    • voice searching/dialing
    • park sensing for viewing video content
    • no supplied documentation (RESOLVED-find at top of post)
    • Torque does not work via bluetooth (Not supported by the 620 model, must be a 621 or newer. see attached: http://torque-bhp.com/forums/?wpforu...topic&t=1534.0)
    • dimmer wire doesn't seem to work with buttons or screen
    • steering wheel control setup
    • Scanner apps play in fast forward


    *UPDATE* 1/3/12 uploaded new unboxing video here sorry for the terrible video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mgka_...layer_embedded

    *UPDATE* 1/6/12 uploaded new first boot video http://youtu.be/TGTVWU1kaj0

    *UPDATE* 1/9/12 some features http://youtu.be/nYxQwvSZeWE

    *UPDATE* 1/21/12 some more features! http://youtu.be/vtQWzs7oT18

    *UPDATE* 1/25/12 installed with sound http://youtu.be/0GtxX5qwcDg

    *UPDATE* 1/25/12 manufacturer pamphlet and roadmap http://youtu.be/PjTHd0ExuUw
    Last edited by zr2ee; 04-09-2013 at 10:06 PM.

  2. #2
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    34
    subscribing, I've been looking at these units and been trying to find some reviews.
    Looking forward to hearing what you think of it.
    Check out my Restored 84 Camaro
    • Custom Made LED tail lights
    • Bi-Xenon HID Projectors
    • LED retrofitted instrument cluster

  3. #3
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    unit should be shipping out from ohio today, hoping i'll see this monday or tuesday.

    been digging through the market to see what i wan't to add and found several interesting apps

    torque obviously for OBII monitoring
    Ionroad a augmented reality distance monitoring systemhttps://market.android.com/details?i...lPblJvYWQiXQ..
    Autotether a tethering program that enables hotspot on your phone automatically when it connects via bluetooth to your other android unit. of course i'll probably just use a tasker macro to do this but a great app idea https://market.android.com/details?i...N0LnJlbW90ZSJd

  4. #4
    Maximum Bitrate RAWPWR's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    636
    zr2ee,

    I'm curious myself on how good this unit really is. Looking forward on your review also.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    34
    ya I'm really hoping for these to be a good quality type item.

    The price is actually really good when you compare them to the big car audio manufacture units. Look at Pioneer, their top of the line Nav unit is/was around 1,500 and that doesn't allow you access to anything even close to what you can do with a true OS and the apps market.
    Check out my Restored 84 Camaro
    • Custom Made LED tail lights
    • Bi-Xenon HID Projectors
    • LED retrofitted instrument cluster

  6. #6
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1
    Curious on what that cost you and where you picked it up from?

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1

    Looking foward to your review

    I've been a big android fan since the original droid. I saw this product awhile ago but was very hesitant to order because I couldn't find any 3rd party reviews. Every site seems to just link to the same press release. Really looking forward to your review.

    Matt

  8. #8
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    American Fork, Utah, United States
    Posts
    204
    new unboxing video is UP! on the first post, i'll be doing a review video hopefully tomorrow if it's not too dark.

  9. #9
    Maximum Bitrate kegobeer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Panama City Beach
    Posts
    627
    What kind of documentation came with the CA-FI 620?
    1999 Mercury Grand Marquis GS with: ASRock E350M1 w/4GB RAM, 80GB Intel SSD, Opus DCX3.120, Visteon HD Radio + HDR-USB, PL-18N wifi, OBDLink Scan Tool, BTA6210 BT, BU-353, Win 7 Ultimate, CF 4.0, Alpine MRP-F240 + MRP-T220, RF Punch 1572s, Kicker 8" Comp.

  10. #10
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    34
    Thanks for the update, can't wait to see it in operation.
    Check out my Restored 84 Camaro
    • Custom Made LED tail lights
    • Bi-Xenon HID Projectors
    • LED retrofitted instrument cluster

Page 1 of 18 1234567891011 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. anyone order from
    By morbidking in forum General MP3Car Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-26-2008, 07:45 AM
  2. mp3 track order (showing up out of order)
    By Sylan in forum Centrafuse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 02:03 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:23 PM
  4. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 10:10 AM
  5. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 07:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •