Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Review my build idea for me

  1. #1
    kdl
    kdl is offline
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    31

    Review my build idea for me

    Help go over my build idea and tell me if I am missing anything.


    1. acer kav60 netbook with Element 7" Touchscreen Display


    Intel Atom 1.6Ghz - 1G ram - 3 USB - 1 VGA - 1 lousy 3.5mm headphone output
    Attachment 65757


    2.sound processing// two channel USB DAC

    http://www.amazon.com/HRT-Music-Stre...2638516&sr=8-1
    Attachment 65758

    2a. Clarion MCD360 2/3 Way Crossover

    http://www.amazon.com/Clarion-MCD360.../dp/B00069R0LM


    3. stereo amp Rockford Fosgate Punch P400-4

    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_575P400...ch-P400-2.html

    4. Front door components Polk Audio DXi 5250

    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_107DXI5...=5250&skipvs=T

    5. rear speakers staying stock for now


    6. Rockford Fosgate Punch P400-2 - 2-channel car amplifier bridged for 400watt sub output

    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_575P400...ch-P400-2.html


    7. Pioneer TS-SW2501S4 - Shallow-mount 10" 4-ohm subwoofer


    http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130TSS2...w2501&skipvs=T
    Last edited by kdl; 03-26-2012 at 03:52 PM.

  2. #2
    Constant Bitrate besjr69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    123
    kdl, your build idea is right on point. The use of the USB is a good option, but personally I'd use a dedicated DAC using the optical output of the MB. This will reduce noise trememdously (not talking ground loops, but noises inside the PC like HDD wind up, etc.). I use this setup in my system. Other than that, you appear to have a well balanced design with enough power for all speakers. Seems like a good build to me.

    Bobby

  3. #3
    Variable Bitrate mayhembdm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    233
    missing the car?
    2004 Holden WL Caprice Auto GENIII
    Base System = Raspberry Pi
    Everything else is pending for now as switched from a Mini-ITX setup

  4. #4
    kdl
    kdl is offline
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    31
    The car is a mini cooper.
    The PC Does not have any audio optical out. only analog from the 3.5mm jack. so the USB dac is the only real option for me.

  5. #5
    Constant Bitrate besjr69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    123
    Understood. Look out for ground loops. You may have to do some testing to ground the PC and/or DAC properly but it is well worth the headache. I started out using the 5.1 audio out but switched to outboard DAC due to the PC noise. I could never get rid of it. Optionally you can install a ground loop isolator but you may notice a decrease in freq response using one. Anyway good luck to you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    kdl
    kdl is offline
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    31
    THanks man. Yea The netbook is holding me back a little bit. The more research I do The less the netbook is working out for me. But when i started this project my inspiration was using the netbook for low power consumption, easy install and quick resume from sleep/hibernate.
    Last edited by kdl; 03-26-2012 at 04:29 PM.

  7. #7
    licensed to kill - FKA kev000
    Auto Apps:loading...
    tripzero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    16.40618, 120.61106
    Posts
    2,494
    startup/shutdown for the netbook will likely be your biggest hurdle. Oh, and mounting it in a usable way.
    Former author of LinuxICE, nghost, nobdy.
    Current author of Automotive Message Broker (AMB).
    Works on Tizen IVI. Does not represent anyone or anything but himself.

Similar Threads

  1. 2007 VW GTi Build Idea and Questions
    By Ted Graham in forum Newbie - Proposed setup
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2011, 03:59 PM
  2. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 02:23 PM
  3. Hardware Review: Overdue M2ATX review
    By elstev0 in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2006, 10:10 AM
  4. Hardware Review: Car2PC Alpine MBUS review
    By MatrixPC in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2006, 07:39 AM
  5. I have an idea on how to build it...
    By sk0tie in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 12:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •