Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: WiFi OBDLink review suggestions

  1. #1
    Newbie Moysie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    46
    Blog Entries
    1

    Arrow WiFi OBDLink review suggestions

    I am currently working on a review of scantool.net's WiFi OBDLink interface.
    The review will be done as a suppliment to my previous review of the USB OBDLink interface.
    a copy of which can be found here

    I am looking for suggestions of things that you guys would like to see included in the review and i shall try to accomodate these requests.

    Look forward to hearing from you guys

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SuperMod - OBDII GPS Logger forum
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    924
    Might be good to see if it still works fine after changing the baudrate [eg, software that experimentally tries to up the baudrate using the AT command - is it still possible to recover?] Does changing the baudrate actually change anything?

    Try connecting to it from different systems. Specifically see if you can find some old card that only does 802.11b [eg, the wireless thingy with my Palm Tugsten2], and check that it works with b/g and b/g/n devices from different vendors.

    Test the actual data rate, compare to the sample rate when connecting via USB or bluetooth.

    I also specifically care that it works with more OSs than just windows. Check that OSX and at least one variant of linux can work with it. Ideally Tiger 10.4ppc as well as newer intel ones.

    Gary (-;
    OBDGPSLogger, for logging OBDII and/or GPS data
    OBDSim, an OBDII/ELM327 software simulator
    mp3car forums: obdgpslogger, obdsim

  3. #3
    SuperMod - OBDII GPS Logger forum
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    924
    Also, I'd like to see more free software tested with it.

    Gary (-;
    OBDGPSLogger, for logging OBDII and/or GPS data
    OBDSim, an OBDII/ELM327 software simulator
    mp3car forums: obdgpslogger, obdsim

  4. #4
    Newbie Moysie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    46
    Blog Entries
    1
    Sorry for the delay in replying iv been busy at work and had a few computer problems.

    Not sure if i would be able to test it on Linux, will ask around my friends to see if anyone has linux.

    A few queries about your suggestions:

    when you say "test the actual data rate" how would i be able to implement this? is there a software program that can actualy monitor the data rate?

    "Might be good to see if it still works fine after changing the baudrate [eg, software that experimentally tries to up the baudrate using the AT command - is it still possible to recover?]" Which software package do you suggest for this, also what do you mean be "is it still possible to recover"?

    Will look around and get more free obdII programs to test.
    Which free programs are most popular with this community

  5. #5
    SuperMod - OBDII GPS Logger forum
    Auto Apps:loading...

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    924
    Personally to measure data rate, I run my logger for a while with samplerate 0, and then count the rows and the delta time. As for windows, I dunnno.

    Again... obdgpslogger can modify the samplerate. Really you can do it by hand using your terminal of choice if you tweak ATST to be a nice high human-manageable number. Take a read of the ELM327 datasheet [from elmelectronics.com] to see how.

    By "is it possible to recover", I mean "if you manage to change the samplerate but run into problems, does it need to be unplugged and replugged?"

    Dunno what free tools there are, really. I just want to see more, since I'm cheap.

    Gary (-;
    OBDGPSLogger, for logging OBDII and/or GPS data
    OBDSim, an OBDII/ELM327 software simulator
    mp3car forums: obdgpslogger, obdsim

Similar Threads

  1. EnGenius EUB-362 Wireless Wifi USB Adapter Review
    By L-U-R-C-H in forum The Review Palace
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 09:21 AM
  2. WIFI CONNECTION MANAGERS (mini review)
    By liquid_smoke in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 04-27-2007, 08:04 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-13-2007, 01:23 PM
  4. WiFi Hopper - WLAN Scanner and autoconnecter
    By crez79 in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 11-21-2006, 12:43 PM
  5. for those of you with wifi in laptop...
    By fventura03 in forum Wireless Communications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-30-2005, 08:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •