Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Opinions on Auto Tap

  1. #1
    SWC
    SWC is offline
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    165

    Opinions on Auto Tap

    I have been looking at the Auto Tap OBD II software. I have seen a few people mention it on the boards here and mention the fact you cant adjust any settings (which I dont mind) but I was wondering if anyone has actually used it and wanted to know what they thought about it. I the forums but all I could find was people recommending it for use but no real user expieriences with it.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SWC
    SWC is offline
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Baltimore
    Posts
    165
    anyone used it?

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate owenjh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    604
    I saw the price and decided not to even bother looking at it anymore. I think one or two people here may have used it. Maybe more but I think I remember seeing atleast one or two. I personally think that there are other solutions avaliable that would better suit my needs / price range.
    CarComputer Status: New Car & Broken (Motherboard Fried)
    Owen JH | My Linux Blog | The Tech Fellows

  4. #4
    Low Bitrate Terran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    73
    It is on the pricey side, but I purchased it and think it's great. It's a unverisal reader which mean you can connect to most cars manufactutered after 1996. I haven't had the opporunity to test out all it's features since I just installed it a few days ago. So far, the best feature is, the software will allow you to customized the gauges and graphs to many different sensors in your car.
    Why is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users?

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate The Grinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    343
    I hope I'm not too late to offer an opinion. AutoTap sells more than one version of their scanner. There is a basic scanner and an enhanced scanner. When I bought mine a few years ago, it was the same as the enhanced version they have now. For me I wanted to be able to monitor stuff like engine misfires, O2 readings and Knock Retard. If you have no idea what I just said, you may want to reconsider your reason for purchasing one.

    Over all it's a good unit. I know people that have cheaper models and they were missing a few parameters that my AutoTap was able to view. For me that was more important than saving a few bucks.

    I've since sold and moved on to a different unit that will allow me to write changes to my ECM/PCM (whatever you would like to call it). The one I have is specific to 97-03 Grand Prix's, and is locked to my model/year. I need this because I am making major changes to my engine. Different cam shaft, different MAF sensor, intercooler, larger injectors, etc.. If you are not making these types of changes to your car, you don't need a programmer.
    Carputer progress meter: [-----|]
    Carputer gadget meter: [--|---]

  6. #6
    Constant Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    153
    who makes the ecm programmer you have?

  7. #7
    Variable Bitrate The Grinch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    343
    DHP (Digital Horse Power)

    They only support the Grand Prix at this time. They will be supporting other vehicles like Buick Regals and LS1 powered cars soon. I don't believe there are any plans to support non-GM cars.
    Carputer progress meter: [-----|]
    Carputer gadget meter: [--|---]

  8. #8
    Super Moderator. If my typing sucks it's probably because I'm driving.... turbocad6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    6,234
    hey grinch, do you think the gp programer would work on a pontiac montana since as far as I know it is basicaly the same drivetrain?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 36
    Last Post: 04-13-2005, 05:03 AM
  2. 5volt line? tap off harddrive/ PS2 /kybd?
    By chuckctv in forum Power Supplies
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-28-2004, 02:46 PM
  3. Auto DJ function proposal.
    By kid320 in forum Media Engine
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-26-2004, 06:35 PM
  4. Auto DJ function proposal... opinions?
    By kid320 in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2004, 11:07 AM
  5. Opinions Wanted Which Monotor to get ?
    By belezeebub in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-01-2004, 03:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •