Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Opinions and advice on screen placement sought.

  1. #1
    Variable Bitrate wkolodny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    326

    Opinions and advice on screen placement sought.

    Okay I am now ready to move to the second stage of my car pc project. I have decided to mount my screen in my dash and lose the head unit. Here is what I have to work with, all opinions and advice are welcome.

    These first 4 pictures are the double DIN opening I have:





    As you can see the lilliput fits perfectly within the width of the opening.


    Too bad it is too tall.


    My first thought was to chop away the areas in red.



    It would look something like this only much more recessed:






    Then I thought maybe it would be better if I mounted it behind the opening.
    It may be a little too recessed though. I figure that I could create some
    sort of frame that fills the gap between the screen and the frame. Kind
    of like a border around the mounted frame.




    I am open to suggestions or comments. Thanks.
    Don't Fear The Gurkey
    Click here to check out My Setup

  2. #2
    Variable Bitrate wkolodny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    326
    Wow. No one has an opinion. I must not be on the right board.
    Don't Fear The Gurkey
    Click here to check out My Setup

  3. #3
    Maximum Bitrate dodgetimes2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    678
    Looks like you're gonna have to do a trim-job all around and then use some bondo and/or fiberglass to reshape around the LCD. Sand and then repaint. Just my $.02. Check out the finished projects forum many people have done it.
    1.6GHz HP e-PC, 768MB RAM, 120GB WD HDD, Slim DVD-ROM, Onboard sound & video, 7" Lilliput, USB GPS Mouse, Audiovox FM Modulator, Vector 400 Watt Power Inverter, Windows XP Pro SP2, iGuidance 2, 15" Samsung LCD for the rear *Carputer not installed*

  4. #4
    Low Bitrate
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Ma
    Posts
    102
    you definatly have some work ahaid of you. Just a thought. You may want to put the screen back as far as possable so the housing acts as a sun shield. The biggest complaint on this board about screens is glare. If you had it set kindof like the bottom picture i think you would save yourself alot of that grief. You also may want to tilt it twards you or up a little depending on your viewing angle. While these screens do have a wide viewing angle the quality is the best dead on.

    -Dustin

  5. #5
    Constant Bitrate Homebrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    216
    Awesome, thats the same bezel my explorer uses. I'll be using a Xenarc though. Is that from a sport-trac? I'm trying to decided which way to do it myself. I'm considering removing the lcd from its case and mounting it behind the bezel, but i'd like to avoid removing it from the case if possible. the problem with trimming the height on the bezel to allow it to be recessed in from the front is that it may interfere with your heater controls. I'm anxious to see what you end up doing though. It'll probably influence my decision.

    -Kevin

  6. #6
    Variable Bitrate wkolodny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    326
    Quote Originally Posted by Homebrew
    Awesome, thats the same bezel my explorer uses. I'll be using a Xenarc though. Is that from a sport-trac? I'm trying to decided which way to do it myself. I'm considering removing the lcd from its case and mounting it behind the bezel, but i'd like to avoid removing it from the case if possible. the problem with trimming the height on the bezel to allow it to be recessed in from the front is that it may interfere with your heater controls. I'm anxious to see what you end up doing though. It'll probably influence my decision.

    -Kevin
    Its for my 2001 sport trac. Got it off ebay for 20 bucks.
    See my project setup below for more details. I think I am going to mount the screen behind the bezel intact. I dont like the idea of taking it apart either. Now I just have to figure out how best to attach it and how best to create a frame insert the hides the edges of the screen.
    Don't Fear The Gurkey
    Click here to check out My Setup

  7. #7
    Variable Bitrate wkolodny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    326

    Sport Trac In-Dash Screen

    Well it looks light I am going to have to go with the first option There is very little vertical high behind the radio bezel. Very tight fit. I will try to bondo it in after cutting away the bottom portion of the bezel. Not looking forward to all of that sanding though.
    Don't Fear The Gurkey
    Click here to check out My Setup

  8. #8
    Bowel movement jjh221's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    not sure yet.
    Posts
    1,645
    Im working on mine right now. PM me and ill send you pics of how it is turning out, if you want to see.

  9. #9
    Raw Wave wizardPC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    2,635
    do you need the buttons for the lilliput? you can hack and bondo the screen bezel into that opening with little problems
    Debt as of 1/1/05: $34,354.48
    Debt as of July 4, 2007: $0.00 explanation
    I'M DEBT FREE!!
    I'm now a reasonably successful gunblogger.

  10. #10
    Variable Bitrate wkolodny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    326
    Quote Originally Posted by wizardPC
    do you need the buttons for the lilliput? you can hack and bondo the screen bezel into that opening with little problems
    I would like to keep the buttons accessible if possible. I have just read about all of the nightmares people have gone through when tearing apart there screens so I would like to keep the screen surgery to a minimum.
    Don't Fear The Gurkey
    Click here to check out My Setup

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •