Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 51

Thread: Ford F150 Lilliput in Dash

  1. #1
    Low Bitrate GRod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    98

    Ford F150 Lilliput in Dash

    Hi, I've been doing a lot of searching on this site to find a way to mount my 8" Lilliput Touchscreen in the dash and have it look close to OEM. After much reading and experimenting, I came across http://www.hzemall.com/hzemall_folde...nlinestore.htm
    which is a couple of liquid plastic products that Tim has been using for years in building custom installs.

    Below are some pics of my build. I'm doing the final coat of paint this weekend and will reassemble the Lilliput and post a pic of the final product.
    Attached Images Attached Images      

  2. #2
    Low Bitrate GRod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    98

    Picture with Texture Coating

    Here is a picture of the near complete install with SEM Texture Coating applied.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  3. #3
    Newbie fearthepenguin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    38
    dagnabit, you beat me to it. I am about to embark on an install in my 03 F150 first week of March (got some time off work). Can you post a different picture of the finished piece, the one that is up appears to be pretty aggresivly downsampled and is just coming out blocky.
    Jason
    It gimme the jibblies

  4. #4
    Low Bitrate GRod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    98
    Hi, I reposted the picture (see above).

  5. #5
    Variable Bitrate lerandell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ennis,TX.
    Posts
    316
    you must be physic or something. I am just about to dig into doing a screen and when I saw this thread title I though to myself "did I already post that question?"

    anyway, I am wanting to try something that fit into the oem radio area. it is like 2mm short of being double din size.

    Where did you move the a/c controls?
    Randell Kelly

  6. #6
    Low Bitrate GRod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    98
    The AC controls are being moved into an expedition console (that is all part of this project - that started out small and has turned into the never-ending project

    Here's a pic of how I have temporarily mounted the controls (you can also seem my crappy first attempt at installing a screen).
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #7
    Variable Bitrate lerandell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ennis,TX.
    Posts
    316
    what screen size is that one in the picture above? a 7"? I found on one of the web sites that if you take the screen out of the housing it is a total of 155mm wide and 98mm tall. I wonder how that would look or fit in the stock opening. I am trying to avoid a cutting on the factory trim.
    Randell Kelly

  8. #8
    Variable Bitrate lerandell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Ennis,TX.
    Posts
    316
    I just re-read the web site and I think that messurement is for the viewable screen area. I found this...

    http://www.digitalww.com/images/ST-070A.jpg

    this is a 7" touch screen overlay. It shows to be 170mm wide and 106mm tall.
    The stock radio is something like 178mm wide and 98mm tall. very close. I think I could make it work.
    Randell Kelly

  9. #9
    Low Bitrate GRod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    98
    Yes, it's 7". If you want to keep the buttons in their present location, it won't fit - I tried it. Also, you will have to do some trimming of the dash, as the back of the dash won't allow you to place the screen flush against it without some cutting. You may want to purchase another dash piece (either from the wreckers or from Ford Parts to practice on.

    Good Luck
    Carputer/AV System ~95% complete
    Parts all acquired - testing underway
    Fabrication and integration underway
    More on my Ride

  10. #10
    MySQL Error Scouse Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    9,727
    NICE progress and sweet ride. i do like those F150s.

    Why did you change from thr 7" Xenarc to 8" lilliput? How is the brightness in daylight?

    Oh - you might want to add you are fabbing an 8" into your 1st post (thats if i am right in assuming it is an 8" but it sure looks like one)

    Lerandell, if you go to the "everything you want to know..." stickies at the top of the LCD section you will find allthe measurements you need for the screens - internal and external.

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My Fiat Stilo 99% complete (Lilliput in Dash)
    By antofa007 in forum Show off your project
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 06-03-2010, 12:42 PM
  2. Landrover Defender in dash Lilliput fitting
    By rustyboxx in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-08-2005, 09:14 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 08:33 AM
  4. Bought my Lilliput & 2nd Dash
    By ChrisAndNat in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2004, 09:29 AM
  5. Help !!, Lilliput In Dash Convert gone wrong
    By markie in forum LCD/Display
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2004, 04:35 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •