Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: COM Sneak Preview

  1. #1
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,052

    COM Sneak Preview

    With the help from Sonic, Fusion Control Centre is now COM enabled.

    You can start RoadRunner or FCC in any order. Once either is running you can close and restart either as well at any time, hasn't broken yet. I dont know the internals of RR, but it hasnt crashed or anything with FCC restarting. The DLL tries to always give back a value, so there shouldnt be anything wrong.

    More coming later, but here is a preview:



    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  2. #2
    Newbie rightsidenov's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    17
    So what does this mean exactly? I'm relatively new here. I do know what RR is, as well as FB. But what is this COM thing? A way to communicate between the two? Was that not able before? Thanks!

    I can't wait till I build a carPC, get a FB and start playing around with it!

  3. #3
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,052
    Quote Originally Posted by rightsidenov View Post
    So what does this mean exactly? I'm relatively new here. I do know what RR is, as well as FB. But what is this COM thing? A way to communicate between the two? Was that not able before? Thanks!

    I can't wait till I build a carPC, get a FB and start playing around with it!
    Yes COM is a way of communicating between the 2 applications. We supply our own software for free unlike others, and previously all you needed to do was just embed the application like you would a GPS app into any other program like RR or CF or SD.

    Now with COM, our program will run behind the scenes if you want it to, and your frontend program of choice can do the display natively.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  4. #4
    Variable Bitrate
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    351
    Blog Entries
    1
    Hurray! Been waiting for this a long time.

  5. #5
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    17

    Calling FB from app other than RoadRunner

    Any chance you can give me an idea of how to get started using the new COM interface from code (i.e. VB.net, not from RR)? I've tried a few different methods such as

    Code:
     
    Dim myBrain As New FusionCOM.FusionServer
    myBrain.SetDigitalOutValue(0, 1)
    myBrain.SetDigitalOutValue(1, 1)
    'etc...
    but I can't seem to make contact with the board. Is there something that needs to be done to initialize the connection and specify the board you want to communicate with?

    I appreciate that you're pretty busy so thank you for helping in advance...

    JoeBerni

  6. #6
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,052
    Quote Originally Posted by joeberni View Post
    Any chance you can give me an idea of how to get started using the new COM interface from code (i.e. VB.net, not from RR)? I've tried a few different methods such as

    Code:
     
    Dim myBrain As New FusionCOM.FusionServer
    myBrain.SetDigitalOutValue(0, 1)
    myBrain.SetDigitalOutValue(1, 1)
    'etc...
    but I can't seem to make contact with the board. Is there something that needs to be done to initialize the connection and specify the board you want to communicate with?

    I appreciate that you're pretty busy so thank you for helping in advance...

    JoeBerni

    Some things to note:

    MDX must be running, it does the actual communication. MDX will initialize everything. MDX can run in the system tray from start, so that may be what you want.

    Then make a new instance of the Server Class. And call MyServerClass.xxxx where xxxx is:

    GetAnalogueValue
    GetDigitalOutValue
    GetDigitalInValue
    GetNumericVariableValue
    GetBooleanVariableValue

    Each of those functions takes an int32 as a parameter. The int is the index of the item as laid out in the configuration file. Object 0 is the first (topmost) and Object n is the last (bottommost)

    Also MDX must have the COM enabled by setting status="enabled" in the configuration file's general section.
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  7. #7
    Fusion Brain Creator 2k1Toaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Colorado, but Canadian!
    Posts
    10,052
    Also, if you want to set things, not just get (like change a digital output), then you will need to fire the COM_CommandReceived event either by calling it directly if your language supports it, OR by calling Server_SendBackCommandEvent which takes a string "command"as a parameter.

    The string command is interpreted by MDX as specified in the configuration file in the COM section.

    If your COM section looks like this:
    Code:
        <com status="enabled">
          <commands>
            <command id="myCustomCOMCommand" minimum_delta_vote_time="100">
              <do function="trigger output" functionTargetID="Digital Output 0" vote_opinion="on" vote_priority="medium"></do>
              <do function="trigger output" functionTargetID="Digital Output 1" vote_opinion="on" vote_priority="medium"></do>
            </command>
          </commands>
        </com>
    So if you call COM_CommandReceived("myCustomCOMCommand"); then MDX will interpret it and Turn on Digital Output 0 and Digital Output 1
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    17
    Thanks Nick! Appreciate the great (and fast) response.

Similar Threads

  1. video preview problem
    By Morpheus2010 in forum Road Runner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 03:35 AM
  2. Preview for new features?
    By jAyRoCkS24r in forum StreetDeck
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-25-2006, 06:31 PM
  3. flash skin preview
    By holistic in forum RR Skins
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 07-09-2005, 04:17 AM
  4. sneak preview
    By FunkDaMonkMan in forum Bruno Speech Recognition
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2005, 11:59 PM
  5. AIMEE Sneak preview
    By Confused in forum Software & Software Development
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 10-01-2004, 09:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •