Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

'91 Accord carputer v1.5 (that is, post-burglary/theft)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '91 Accord carputer v1.5 (that is, post-burglary/theft)

Hey guys, well after I got my previous lilliput and head unit jacked from my car...in my school parking lot (that story can be found here), I finally got my computer reinstalled. Some new things:

-bondo mount for the lilliput in the dash
    -DVD drive up in the dash via IDE->USB adapter
    -new (cheap) head unit, this time w/ an aux-in (before, i was using an FM-modulator...)
    -various software upgrades/fixes, including a fresh XP install, etc.

Here are some pix:

Ok, so bear with me - this is my very first time using Bondo and that kind of stuff. I guess you could have called me a bondo-virgin before this project. Here is my dash getting prepped for the fab:

another shot

I put some foil around some cardboard cut out to be just the right size of the screen. You can see that I went ahead and used the lilliput case, i figured this was the easiest option for mounting the screen later.

I roughed-up the edges a bit with a dremel to give the bondo something to grab on to:

Mixing/applying. I put some cardboard through the holes too, so i wouldnt have to guess-and-drill later

after some sanding

after painting

Here's my DVD drive. I got a IDE->USB adapter and waaay too many USB extension cords. Whatever though, they were cheap (Thank you, Newegg!)

My work area:

The installed product:

Okay, so I know it's not a perfect OEM-install, but honestly, I didn't really need it to be flawless. Again, this was my first time ever using Bondo, so be nice I think it could have used another layer of goo, but I was sick of driving around with half of a dashboard and using my phone for music. Maybe once i get a nicer car, i'll put a bit more time/effort/money into this thing. Thanks for the feedback!