Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Stealth Install - Nexus7 + Alpine IDE178BT remote faceplate (concealed)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stealth Install - Nexus7 + Alpine IDE178BT remote faceplate (concealed)

Hi everybody - newly registered newbie here. I'm been lurking around for a few weeks getting tips from you guys, but I thought it was about time I joined and fed something back!

My car is a VW Golf MKV. This is my first major project involving fabrication, but it seems to be going ok so far. I'll give you a quick rundown of what I've done up to now:

First I took an Autoleads double din faceplate, added a universal insert trim surround and stuck them together with Araldyte.

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo 2.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	107.3 KB
ID:	2311004

Then I used some QuickSand UPOL to fill the big gaps.

Name:	photo 4.jpg
Size:	169.8 KB
ID:	2311005

I used UPOL primer filler spray to prime and fill

Name:	photo 5.jpg
Size:	140.0 KB
ID:	2311006

Before spraying with matt black plastic spray from Halfords

Name:	photo 8.jpg
Size:	128.4 KB
ID:	2311007

Nice

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

Comment

the next stage was making the nexus 7 fit inside the fascia - no easy task! after hours and hours of dremel work with cutting discs and sanding, I finally made enough room to fit the tablet in (correctly). When I wasn't fabricating, I was creating images on Photoshop to use as the background. The missus was on the verge of killing me (still is!)

My original plan was to take the asus official nexus 7 dock and reduce its size to fit into the fascia, that way it would hold the tablet and provide charging and a 3.5mm aux out. Unfortunately I could not make it fit correctly, despite lots of trimming and chopping.

Name:	956.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	95.0 KB
ID:	2288351

So, had to revert to plan b and get the soldering iron out:

Name:	photo 4 (2).jpg
Size:	178.0 KB
ID:	2288352

Name:	photo 1 (2).jpg
Size:	179.0 KB
ID:	2288353