No announcement yet.

2005 Saturn Vue - 7 inch indash

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2005 Saturn Vue - 7 inch indash

I just purchased this Vue about 2 months ago and ever since, I have wanted to put in a carputer! This is going to be a long process, but lets get started!

Step 1. I measured my DIN size to see what I have to work with. I'm pretty new to this, but with 7X4 opening, I believe this is a 2 DIN setup (please correct me if I'm mistaken)

Also, if anyone has experience with installing a carputer in a Vue (I did a search and found very little info on this car), I'd greatly appreciate some direction!

*******TOTAL PRICE TO DATE********
    1. Jetway Mboard - $169
    2. Lilliput 7 inch touchscreen LCD - $175
    2. Western Digital 60 Gb 2.5 Laptop Drive - $58
    3. OPUS 120 watt DC - DC Power Supply - $93
    4. XMD1000 satellite radio module - $34
    5. XMD1000 Serial Data Cable - $19
    6. Clarion 400W amplifier - $40 (great deal off Ebay)
    7. StreetDeck Software - $200
    8. 2005 Saturn Vue wiring harness - $15
    8. 1/4 inch plexi - $19
    9. slimline DVD - $15
    10. Misc hardware - $70

Total: $917

That looks perfect for a 7" screen. I'd consider molding the screen in the bezel to make up for that recessed look

I was thinking that having the screen recessed a little into the dash would cut down on glare....What do you think?

I thought that too but it might actually hurt more than it helps. I have an 06 maxima and molding it into the bezel would do nothing for me because of the angle of the dash, the bezel has a small lip over the screen but it does nothing to reduce the glare. I think mounting it flush would make it look nicer

this needs to be moved to the worklogs
          but i hope it turns out good id love to do my vue
          Cant code cause I dont know how, but give me the paint bucket and my eraser and have at you!

I can read a nice 7" monitor in this dash's future -
            VER. 3.0- Check out below: