Super 01' Altima

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Super 01' Altima

Acctually there is nothing super about my car, but I'm hoping to change that with a carputer. I'd like to use this thread as a worklog/blog, because I am a newbie. If you have any suggestions, comments or if my plans are terribly stupid please feel free to let me know. Any advice would be appreciated. Here is what I'm working with.

Click image for larger version

Name:	stock2.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	47.5 KB
ID:	2300905

That being said here is an overview of my plans. I would like to take advantage of my 2 DIN slots and install a retractable 7" lilliput monitor and a mini pc (either aopen or mac). I considered many different types of complicated installs, but decided to KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID.

My main driver is to have a system that is fully accessible from the dashboard (CD drive, inputs, and radio controls). I want a system that I can still have basic radio functions during the installation process, can be bolted in and easily removed. I'm worried about the custom fab required to install the comuter, but a friend from work offered to help me. I'm currently being worked to death at my job so this install will be a slow process. For now I'm going to buy a lilliput GL701-NP/C/T and a dash kit from pepboys.

My biggest concerns are clearance for the monitor, whether or not it will be too low to read and if there will be room in the dash to fit all of the components. I'll keep you all posted.

-Ross

if you were planning on going with a standard 7" lilliput raw screen, you could do a custom mount of the radio up top (well better than what i did) and move the climate controls down to the bottom, OR you can ghost face the faceplate and mount that somewhere and keep the climate controls where they are... your call. Here's a pic of my setup

these are old pics of it running
    http://pic15.picturetrail.com/VOL578.../200381958.jpg
    http://pic15.picturetrail.com/VOL578.../200381958.jpg