2005 Pontiac GTO - wake's Carputer Attempt

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2005 Pontiac GTO - wake's Carputer Attempt

I am using this mostly for own reference, however I would appreciate and I welcome any comments/suggestions from the veterans and other installers.

I have no experience with carputers, however I have installed various sound systems in previous vehicles I have owned and I have a Bachelors in Computer Science. Put the two together, and I'm hoping I can build a carputer for my new ride.

To start off, here is my ride.

My expectations for my carputer, in order of importance:
    1. MP3 Player
    2. DVD Player
    3. GPS System
    4. PS2 Capability

Reasons for a carputer:

My stock unit cannot play MP3 cds. Instead of the same aftermarket, boring install, why not try a more challenging project? I was planning on eventually adding screen capability for PS2/DVD reasons, but when I can do that plus MP3 and many more features, I'm game.

In the mail:
    • Goldwood 6.5" Free-Air Subs

Owned Parts:
    • Infinity Kappa Components
    • Mukti-Amp Install Kit
    • Infinity Reference Amps (2)
    • OPUS 150 watt DC-DC power Supply SFX.1215
    • Maxtor 60GB HDD
    • Plextor DVD/CD Writer
    • Athenatech A202BB.L220 Black Computer Case
    • BIOSTAR M7NCG 400 Socket A (Socket 462) NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
    • AMD Mobile Athlon XP-M 2400+ (35W) Barton 266MHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket A Processor
    • CT6464Z335.8T Crucial Micron 512MB DDR
    • LinITX 7" Widescreen VGA/Composite Monitor with Touchscreen
    • USB 2.0 to 40pin IDE Cable (For DVD Drive Relocation)
    • Mini-Key USB Keyboard DGPN-570
    • Cable / SVGA-HD15 Male To Female With Ferrites 10ft (For VGA Run from PC -> LCD)
    • USB Sound Blaster Audigy 2 NX

Undecided Parts:
    • Computer - I have been researching cases, motherboards, processors, etc, but I have not settled on anything just yet.