1987 Mustang GT Convertible MP3 Mustang

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1987 Mustang GT Convertible MP3 Mustang

This project has taken way to long and still isn't complete, so I thought I'd post a worklog to help me get remotivated.

Car: 1987 Mustang GT Convertible
    Current engine/trans combo: 5.0l Stock bottom end, TFS Twisted Wedge Heads - Ported, E303 Cam, 1.6 Roller Rockers, GT-40 Intake, 70mm Throttle Body, Paxton 8lb Blower, NOS 5115 150 HP Kit, Stock Trans & 2.73 Rear Gears
    Next Year's combo: 67mm Single Turbo (own), 331 Stroker Motor (being built)

Here's some of the progress I've made and problems encountered...

I've been buying parts for this install for many years - started with a DennisK kit that never made it to the car. Since then, I've gone with a Sharp LQ10D367 10.4" panel, a Datalux (still have on my desk) to my AllBrite setup.
    Stage 1:
    Here's the start of the gutting process:

took a couple of pieces off

looks like a 10.4 would fit right in there.

made a template of the screen size to decide where this thing should go.

Looks like I'm turning this thing into a reco-theft

The screen fits right in that old vent area...It gave me an idea to just gut the area behind the OEM dash area and slip an LCD 'sandwich' back there, create a decent looking bezel and viola, done. Well, one thing led to another...
    Continued on next post.

Admins - I know it's going to be a ton of pics, so I'm hosting them.
    - Jeff
    95 Mustang GT Convertible
    87 Mustang GT Convertible
    My Project | Let's Go Mets! | SCT Tuners

Project Status [===#===] [Bezel and dash creation]

lol rusty... but looks good so far btw is that a temperature gage outside on the trunk?

Comment