No announcement yet.

95 Ram...12" touchscreen indash

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 95 Ram...12" touchscreen indash

Hello all,

This is my first attempt at a carputer install. Hopefully it will end up as good as I hpoe it will.

So I guess I'll take you through what i've done so far.

Ok here is what I have to work with...This is where the 12 incher is going.

I found a dash bezel at the junkers for 5 bucks and it was better than mine so I cut up the original one (the original one was all messed up by the guy who helped himself to my old stereo)

Then I made this for the screen to go into.

My Worklog

My Worklog

There is still ALOT more work to do with the screen mount but that is all I have done for now.

On to the computer.

So I needed a case...something stong, cheap ,and look like it belongs in the cab of my truck. Heres what I used.

An hour or two of dremel work and i got all the partitions removed and cut the hole for the I/O Sheild

The I/O sheild fit good but some hot gule and it wasn't going anywhere.
      My Worklog

I also cut a hole for the psu fan and wifi plug.

Here are some of the other parts of the system

and I have a magnetic wifi anttena that goes on the roof.

ok Back to the computer. Here is the case with the motherboard psu and hard drive in it.
        My Worklog

I cut a little hole by the handle and added a switch to turn it on
          I also put a LED there because when you turn a computer on a light should go on, that is just the way it is.

My Worklog

Very cool idea with the DeWalt case.

Try RevFE
            The best resurrected frontend I've ever used, period.

I Wish I could ban people

So now that I had it all together I had to test it out.
              Here is my lab/shop/christmas tree storage.

While testing in the clean room something bizzare happend and my hard drive caught on fire. Good thing it was an old 40 giger

So I replaced it. First I replaced it with a 10 gig 2.5 inch hdd