Grounding question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grounding question

Searched around for this but didn't find the specific answer I was looking for. I'm pretty new to this, but I have installed a computer in my car. Everything is working fine but I get a background noise through the speakers when using the computer. Now, from what I've read in other threads this must be a grounding issue. My inverter is grounded to the battery and then an extension cord runs from the inverter to the computer in the trunk. Do I need to ground the computer seperately? Or is it grounded already since it gets power from the inverter?

If I need to ground ym computer seperately, how would I go about doing that?

Any help would be well appreciated. Thanks.

Lots of info on here having done a In fact maybe too much information?

I think that if you can the PC case should be grounded by running a wire to a ground point in your car. Where one is depends on what make/model your car is. This run should be as short as possible so find a close one.

What does the sound sound like? If it is mechanical mouse/disk noises then you may be getting internal interference on your onboard audio. Much less likely with a PCI card though. Many use an external USB sound card to avoid interference from the PC.
    EPoX mATX SocketA w/onboard Geforce4MX / 512MB PC2700 / AthlonXP 1600
    Lilliput / DVDrom / Opus 150W / WD 3.5" 160GB / SB Audigy NX
    XP home / Road Runner / iGuidance 4.0

Comment

Yeah, i searched for grounding and some other terms and it came up with over 14 pages of threads, most of them don't deal with what I'm asking specifically here.

Anyway, the sound is like a buzzing sound, but it varies sometimes in pitch. I know it's not audio intereference because I can hook up my portable CD player to it and everything works fine. This leads me to believe that it is a grounding issue.