Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installing Power Capacitors?

Hey guys,

This is a total newb question but I just bought a 1 farad power capacitor but I'm not sure how to install it. I know that I need to feed a wire from the 12v+ to the 12v+ prong on the power capacitor, but what is the other prong on the capacitor for?

I don't believe that it is for the 12v- (negative) terminal on the battery, but I'm not really sure because it could be.

I was thinking that it the other prong was the output to the amplifier and the + was the input for the 12v+ terminal of the battery.

Please help me! Thanks guys.

The Capacitor needs a power and ground just like your amplifier does. Feed it a 12v+ from your battery, ground it, then run a second wire from the 12v+ lead to your amplifier/distribution block/etc.

Hope this helps!
    Carputer Progress Meter
    {[|-------------------]} 5%
    Research and planning.

Car: 1991 Toyota MR2 Hardtop
    Stereo: Planet Audio TT4300 & TT1250D, Kicker Resolution RS6 (front) & RS5 (rear), Image Dynamics IDQ12V.2 D4 (2x), Sony CDX-M610

Comment

Originally posted by TWBarrett
      The Capacitor needs a power and ground just like your amplifier does. Feed it a 12v+ from your battery, ground it, then run a second wire from the 12v+ lead to your amplifier/distribution block/etc.

Hope this helps!
      THANKS TWBarrett! When you say "ground it" you mean to the chassis right?

Comment

Yes, to the chassis.
        Carputer Progress Meter
        Research and planning.

Stereo: Planet Audio TT4300 & TT1250D, Kicker Resolution RS6 (front) & RS5 (rear), Image Dynamics IDQ12V.2 D4 (2x), Sony CDX-M610

Comment

Don't forget to place the capacitor as close to the amp you can.. (the wire that goes from the capacitor to the amp should be really short)!!

Comment