Getting sound to car's speakers....

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting sound to car's speakers....

I just registered with the site the other day, but I have been learning alot from here for almost a year now. I am a car audio installer by profession..... I notice alot of talk about people getting amps so they can put the sound through the stock speakers. You dont have to get an amp to do this. An FM modulator would work just as well and be alot cheaper. Also I see that most people use the output on their sound car and an adapter to get the output to RCA style outputs so they can plug it into an amp. If The sound from the computer is set up this way you are looseing a ton of sound quality due to the fact that there is no left, right seperation. I highly recomend an external usb sound card that has RCA outputs on it for optimal sound,

Not trying to bash anyone or come into your forum and tell you that you are doing anything wrong, just trying to help out and share my experices.

BTW, I have a 95 chevy S-10 and my computer project is about ready to go into the truck.

Well, the FM modulator is one (known) option, an aux input (maybe by emulating a cd-changer) is another.

On the second matter, it depends what kind of adapter you use to get to rca. I have cables that are separated, right in the mini-jack connector, so I will not notice much interference from the other channels, will I?

Either way, welcome to the forum, and thanks for that helping spirit (much better that those people posing 1000 questions in their first post, with answers just a search away )

Joa
    List of front-ends/usefull apps
    XTroniC | XTroniC Direct

Comment

I use a 5.1 PCI sound card. I have L/R + F/R using RCA to 1/8" jack cables. No sound quality loss.
      My Install Thread
      digitaljetta.com

MKIV VW Jetta
      How do I get sound to my car?

Comment

Originally posted by futuresweets10