Amp overheating?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Amp overheating?

I was driving home yesterday and the amp started cutting out. so since it only did it a few times no big deal. so today, i was driving for 30 min and it started doing it all the time like when i hit a bump, accelerate when i got home it was verry hot to the touch.

would it be over heating? Kenwood is designed bad since the fan is on top

Why would it just start doing it now? ive been using it this way for 4 months.
    1990 Jeep Cherokee
    2000 VW Golf TDI 4dr
    2005 VW GTI MKIV - SOLD

check your ground... Bad ground can cause it to overheat.

Comment

or perhaps a lose power connection even... the bumps and whatnot can cause it to become loose..
      and perhaps the constant disconnect->connect->disconnect behavior may cause it to heat up a lot? I dunno, just a guess.

Comment

Both power and ground are tight, it seems to run fine when im not moving or hitting bumps. i was just abot to get it work stiting still. but if i bump in my seat it cuts out.

Oh yea, i felt it like a hour after i got home and it was still warm.
        1990 Jeep Cherokee
        2000 VW Golf TDI 4dr
        2005 VW GTI MKIV - SOLD

Comment

I suspect something internal.

Kenwood makes good speakers, but their amplifiers are awful. They count the heat into the wattage. If the problem never fixes, get yourself a new amplifier.
          Audio Rockford Fosgate: 900 Watt 4-channel amp, 501bd Mono amp
          Computer AMD 2400+ XP, 1 GB DDR RAM, Orbit Micro 250W DC-DC PSU

Head units are for cheaters!
          sure some girls fake orgasms.....but it's guys like me who fake the whole relationship

Comment

check out the rca's.

Comment