Alpine 700/701 upgrades?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alpine 700/701 upgrades?

Wondering if anyone here has any information on upgrades for the internals on the 700/701? I've seen the page in German, but there's literally no details.

I'm really interested in the schematic for the 701.

I've got a few thoughts on some other pie in the sky upgrades that I think would be killer, but not being an electrical engineer I have no clue if they are possible.

For instance, a better volume control module...even moving to an analog volume control. I'd also like to change one of the tos-link inputs to a digital coax input...but I don't know what that would take.

I'd also LOVE to somehow hack the 701 and get rid of the controller all together and make an application for the PC...ha! Yeah right...
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

There is a pretty detailed technical post over on ECA that was done by werewolf awhile back. I'm pretty sure the general consensus was you can't do much. There are some benefits that particular DAC offers but it's not really upgradeable if memory serves me correctly.

However having said that converting one of the outputs to coax should be doable. As two the other thing on your wish list there's always posts about hacking the Ai-NET protocol for simple tracking/volume commands but nothing ever seems to come to light. It would be cool though

Give jc2, Kevin7909, or werewolf a holler over at ECA

Comment

I've read the review by him, but that's all it was....just a review. He didn't go into detail about exactly what could be upgraded. I do know that there's a number of things that CAN be upgraded though as I've talked to a number of people who have actually done it.

However, they have always paid someone to do it and never went into detail online about what was or could have been done....