Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Noob with ELM327 needs help!

Hi all!!

im new to all this and have recently bought an ELM327 off Ebay to try and connect to my car and read error codes etc.

BUT, im having trubble getting the thing to connect to ANY car...

Im not sure weather its driver problems or what, but i simple cant get it to connect at all, i tried differant software (DigiMoto 4.03, ScanTool and Pro scan5.1) and none no matter what i have tried will connect...

On ProScan i managed to get it to Open Serial Port, Detect Interface, Initialize interface. BUT when it came to Initialize OBD-II it failes.

Can anyone point me in the rite direction from driver or anything else they think may be the problem?

Im using a Laptop running XP.

Cheers
    Keith

Buying a knock-off ELM from ebay is a crapshoot as to if it will work or not. Chances are you got a bad one... but try opening the interface with a serial terminal (like putty or CRT) and send it commands, see if it responds correctly. perhaps try ATZ, ATI, or 010C just to see if you get responses.
    "stop with the REINSTALLS, what do you think we got some lame-o installer!!!" - mitchjs
    RevFE
    My Shop

Comment

Connecting to what car?
      openMobile - An open source C# Front End (why choose openMobile?)
      - Always Recruiting Developers -
      Like what you see? Donations are always welcome

Comment

Originally posted by malcom2073 View Post
        Buying a knock-off ELM from ebay is a crapshoot as to if it will work or not. Chances are you got a bad one... but try opening the interface with a serial terminal (like putty or CRT) and send it commands, see if it responds correctly. perhaps try ATZ, ATI, or 010C just to see if you get responses.

i have no idea what you just said... haha

But yeah, i wasnt expecting much from it as i wasnt going to fork out crap loads for something ill probobly bearly use.