Advice for system??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for system??

Iím trying to figure out what system to buy and because I have no experience with OBD Iím confused. I know I need an OBD II cable, some kind of interface, and software. Iím reading about the ELM interface but they sound slow and only works on a few vehicles. It also appears that there are more universal interfaces like ďOBDproĒ or ďAllInOneĒ which work with many protocols, but they also suffers with the problem of speed. I need to maintain an 04 Chrysler Pacifica. Auto Eninuity offers a complete package to do generic codes for $250 (so I can help my friends) but it will cost me another $150 to do all the engine codes on my car for a total of $400. ďEase Pc ScanĒ seems to be the most complete package but it cost! If I want just the powertrain on the Chrysler it will cost me $370. If I wanted the Powertrain/Body/Chassis it will cost me $445. Every vehicle I wanted to add (only basic codes) will cost me another $100. Over time I could get into a lot of money!
    If all use somewhat the same interface and all generic codes are the same then spending more money on software really only gets me extended codes. If a company, such as Ease Pc Scan, is a pro company (better everything) and not really meant to be DIY, and they will do things the DIY will never do, then I need to spend the money if I want the power. If I use a DIY interface and a PCMScan or Digimoto software will I ever get all the engine codes, and others codes, to fully diagnostic my car? Will those using an open source software eventually find and do more with codes than the pro companies? Which way do I turn? Please!
    steve

Well if all you are interested in is checking and clearing codes don't get a PC interface at all. Get a handheld reader for that.