Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to get this to work on an ARM processor?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to get this to work on an ARM processor?

Okay, I'm a complete Linux noob, but if you're willing to help me along, I'd like to make getting OBDII GPS Logger the first app I have working on my Sheeva plug.

It runs Debian Linux 9.04. I know that to get this to work I'll have to do two things:

1. Get a version of FTDI that works or can be compiled for the ARM.
    2. Compile GPS logger for the ARM.

I've got a bunch of Linux books on the way. I presume that I need to install gcc (which I have) and can use the make command to compile this for the ARM?

Is this the right way to start?
    Originally posted by ghettocruzer
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Sounds about right.

OBD GPS Logger has been tested on x86_64, x86, and PPC [so far]. I strongly suspect there's no reason it can't work on ARM too.

Sheevaplug - that means you won't be needing the GUI? Probably makes life easier. The GUI is the only C++ thing in the codebase, too - the rest of it should work with just about any old C compiler you can hunt down.

If you want the GPS logging working [I assume you do], you'll want to get gpsd installed too. obdgpslogger links against libgps [from gpsd] to get the gps data.

Unless you enable dbus [it's off by default, for this application you don't want it], obdgpslogger depends on nothing other than libgps, it calls nothing that isn't in standard libc - it *should* be as simple to build as anything out there. Even if you can't get gpsd working, obdgpslogger will gracefully fallback to not linking with gpsd, and just log obd data.