Wood case, for Computer.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wood case, for Computer.

Hi all...... i have question...... if i mount my computer on wood case is dangerous? or is ok.

Computer is hot, and wood not is same steel.... i have fear of burn my system.

I had the first version of my carpc was in a wood case, a computer will not get hot enough to light wood on fire. I ditched the wood after I got my new system it was just a pain in the *** to work with. Good luck.
    "Mess with the best, die like the rest."
    Work Log --> Old Car (Totaled)
    Work Log v2 --> New Car (Totaled)
    Work Log v3 --> GMC Suburban K2500 (Engine died)
    Work Log v4.5 --> 05 Toyota Tundra DC SR5

Comment

There are quite a few modded pc's that use timber cases. I'm no expert but I'm guessing that if your CarPC is hot enough to burn wood you may need to consider some additional cooling!!
      Carputer Haiku (thanks Ian Hughes)
      Serious error.
      All shortcuts have disappeared.
      Screen. Mind. Both are blank.

Comment

i have seen a few mdf cases. I wouldnt worry about burning. however wood doesnt transmit heat like metal does (wood is a far better insulator). This means you will have to rely more on fans and air cooling.

Comment

Yeah wood's cool to use. My case/backseat is MDF and 2x6 / 2x8... I do have 3 80mm fans to circulate air through the edge of the case/backseat...

Comment

I too used an MDF custom built case for my first. The thing you have to remember is that most of the time, we build these PCs to be as energy efficient as possible. Meaning less heat. Make sure you have adequate ventilation, but I ran a full biostar Micro-ATX, a 7200 WD HDD, an opus 150 and an athlon 2400+ mobile in an MDF box with zero problems for 2 years.
            Its not the cards you're dealt, its how you play the hand!

Originally posted by ryuandwings
            Where can I get a roll of tin foil?