Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Convert my 1.5DIN to 2DIN Stereo Opening In My 99 Tahoe?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Convert my 1.5DIN to 2DIN Stereo Opening In My 99 Tahoe?

I'm totally new to this whole advance car audio thing but Iíve been interested in upgrading my 1999 Tahoeís stereo to possibly an in-dash DVD/Navigation system. Unfortunately I have run into a problem. Iíve now been told by several people that my only option is to install a motorized, hideaway screen model. I have seen these units in other vehicles and for one reason or anther donít like them. Now, I know they make complete dash kits to add accent wood, carbon or whatever other material you want to youíre dash. My question is, does anyone know if they make kits like this that create a bigger opening to install a double din stereo. This seems like it wouldnít be too hard for my vehicle. Thereís plenty of room there once you remove the factory CD unit that is separate from the factory head unit. You could then move the A/C control unit down and have plenty of room above for a double din aftermarket unit. Well it seems easy enough if you have every needed to make the molds. Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

If there's not already a kit out there to put a DD in that slot chances are it's not possible without remaking the entire dash.

There are probably things back behind the dash that are keeping this from happening. Structural braces of some kind, etc.
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

Comment