Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2002 Toyota Tacoma Monitor Issues

Hi.

I am nowhere near ready to put in a carputer, but I am interested in doing so in the future. I have a lot of experience with computers, a little bit with fabrication, and very little with cars.

I want to put a touchscreen monitor, I was thinking a Xenarc 700TSV - 2008 Model, in the front console. My problem is where on Earth do I put it. Here is a picture of a 2002 Tacoma dash that I found on the Internet, it's not mine, but it's the same model, and similar layout. I will post pics of mine later.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Tacoma Dash.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	11.6 KB
ID:	2302170

The only difference is that my stereo is a single DIN unit, and the one pictured is a double DIN unit. Mine is: HVAC controls on top, stereo in the middle, and an empty slot below that. There's also an ashtray and cigarette lighter below that, but it's sorta detached from the three DINs, and I'd kinda' rather leave 'em be.

I've also found a bezel for my truck on ebay, so that if and when I'm ready I can do this without mangling the original.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Tacoma Bezel.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	2302171

One problem is, the whole front console is basically parallel to the body when sitting in the truck, and the A/C vents don't allow me to put a monitor up very close to eye level. This will make it somewhat difficult to see the monitor while driving. I was thinking that I could move the HVAC controls down to the bottom DIN, just above the ashtray, and install the monitor in the newly vacted top DIN and middle DIN. This would get the monitor up a bit higher, but it's a lot of work to move all of that around. Does anyone have any better ideas about placement before I persuade myself that I need to move the HVAC stuff?