help a newb out - indash PSP

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help a newb out - indash PSP

hey guys. i was refered to this forum after asking about a little project i'd like to do for my car. I've read many posts in the past couple of days hoping to learn as much as possible to avoid asking newbish questions. Didn;t work. Im still quite lost. Anywho...here's what i'd like to do. I want to take my PSP (playstation portable)
    and be able to mount it in something like this

:

So, what i was thinking was maybe fabricating my own "kit" that the psp will fit in. Possible create a mold, and fill it with some goopy hardening thing (im a newb and a half as you can see) What products (precise names) will i need to accomplish this, and exactly where can i find them? Im aiming to do the quickest/cheapest job possible.

Ok why on GOD's Good Earth would you want to do this? lol

Here is what I would do my friend. I would take apart the psp, and take the front cover of the psp and place it in your mounting bracket. Make sure you can still reach all the buttons on the bottom of the psp. Now keep in mind that by doing this, you most likely will lose your top right and left buttons unless you move them. Again that is another project as well to move them.

Anyhow once you have all your buttons open, like i said before hot glue from the back side of the psp and bracket. Once this is done get yourself some fiberglass from the local parts store and carefully fill in the front grooves.
    Do this until the psp front bezel starts to blend in with your mounting bezel. now you'll have to start to cut and sand some of the fiberglass away but keep adding fiberglass fill until it all looks smooth and as one.

Once you finish this, go and get some really nice looking black paint and give it about 4 coats, more if needed.

Then what you do is take your new psp front bezel and mount it back on to the psp body. This is how I mounted my 7 inch touchscreen for my car.