Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone have EXPERIENCE relabeling buttons?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone have EXPERIENCE relabeling buttons?

I've got a tough one. I need to re-label some buttons on my OEM faceplate. OK, usually no problem. Take it to a silkscreener, good to go.

But no good here. Because the dash illumination shows through the buttons. Like the buttons are frosted plastic, text is masked, button is sprayed to match the dash, and the mask is removed, revealing frosted plastic below. So the button labeled "CD" glows "CD" in the dark.

This is a challenge!

I have some ideas, but no experience doing this. So I wanted to ping this forum for advice from people who have done this. I'm sure the people who haven't done this have ideas which is great. So do I.

But does anyone have any experience doing this?

------

The results MUST look factory. As in, so factory that even the people on this forum wouldn't be able to tell it was a custom job.

See-thru fiberglass, masked and painted? Search in the faq and on other sites for fiberglassing.
    The problem is, if the original buttons have a special color (other than black for example)
    Check my worklog:
    Corsa + Atom + Gentoo Linux + 9" capacitive touchscreen

Lord of the boards: DFI CP100-NRM

"Or you can try Ubuntu, but than don't tell everyone you are using linux,
    because it's just a secret unreleased prebeta of Windows 3829" :P

Comment

They also have a special shape, and special optical properties of the plastic.

No, the original muttons must stay. No refabbed fiberglass or plastic. That's not the problem.