Fabrication question...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fabrication question...

Ok first off I hope I dont anger the mods by posting. I have taken a dash out of a car same as mine so I have a template and I want to fabricate a custom dash and console. I studied the green Chevy job and it looks straightforward enough except, well, it doesn't! How hard was it to measure for all of those boards? That must have been very time consuming. Did they use cardboard first for all the ribs? I have seen that done before. I need tricks and tips on how to make it fit and function sweetly. Newbie or not, I need advice! Oh where is Yoda when you need him??
    Dont tell me to shut up, I'm Rick James ******!!!

What "Chevy job" are you referencing? A link would be helpful.

An amateur built the Ark. The Titanic was built by professionals.

Comment

http://www.undefinedcustoms.com/memberrides/daryl.html

Comment

that is kind of ridiculous to take on as your first fab job. the only advise i can give you is measure twice and cut once
        [::::::::::] 100% - Planning
        [::::::::::] 80% - Computer
        [::::::::::] 0% - Fabbing
        CarPC:
        SP13000 / 120GB SATA 2.5" / 512MB DDR
        8" Innovatek TS / Globalsat BU-353 / Engenius EUB-362 EXT
        Slot load DVDRW / PS3 Wireless Keyboard

Comment

Thanks for the vote of confidence.

Comment

That has got to be the ugliest truck I've ever seen. Though I drive a Honda Element, so I can't say too much. Living in Alaska, I don't see the point of lowering a truck, or cars for that matter. I'm more of a function over looks kind of guy anyway. If this is going to be your first try at fabbing a dash, good luck! Hopefully you have at least some fiberglassing skills.
            Failure is not an option....

It's installed by default on every version of Windows.

Comment

Originally posted by BarryWoods View Post