VIA Opinions - EN15000G vs EX15000G

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• VIA Opinions - EN15000G vs EX15000G

I'm relatively new to this whole CarPC thing. budget in mind, and current availability have landed me with two choices for a board. I'm going to keep using my factory radio system, and just adding a carpc via Aux in to get GPS Navigation, DVD playback, MP3 playback, Satellite radio, WLAN, and Outlook. The front end will be streetdeck. I've searched high and low, VIA's site, online stores, this forum, and I can't seem to figure out which is the better board?

The EX series has a better video card, but less USB's on the back. The EN series has some new faster bus? I'm just lost. It's so confusing. Is anyone familiar with VIA who could possibly shed some light as to which board would perform better?

I thank you in advance.

Mike

(PS. it's my first post, I'm sorry if it's such a noob question if it is)

I've just compared the specs of both boards. The EX is a newer board. It has a newer chipset, better video accellerator, has SATA connections and, and this may be the best part, better audio connections. I don't know how much you care about audio quality but older epia boards like mine have a habit not to perform very well on this part.

On the other hand the EN board has only one really good feature compared to the EX and that's 4 USB connections. Altough I think of this as also a pretty important feature since hub's don't always work as they should, I find this less important compared to the benefits you will have on the EX board. The EX really is designed to be a mediacenter board and since a CarPC is a mediacenter in your car...

Actualy it really is up to you wich board to choose but maybe this was a little bit helpfull.

And BTW: Welcome on these forums!