Need Help with New Car PC!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help with New Car PC!

i'm relatively new to car pcs, however i feel i have a pretty good knowledge of conventional pcs. i just built a system, with the intel little valley mobo/cpu combo, using a laptop hard drive and dvd drive, mx-1 power supply, and ampie case. i'm trying to set it up in the house so i can install windows, drivers, etc. without having to freeze in the truck. i'm getting my 12 volt power from an atx computer power supply. so here's the problem: i'm getting no display on my monitor. the cpu fan is spinning, i'm getting power leds to come on, and the system fan is running and i'm getting light on my optical mouse. like i said, nothing on the monitor. it's just a crt that i know works. any suggestions or help would be appreciated. i don't know where to start!

RAM?

POST Beeps?
    Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
    1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
    30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
    15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
    Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

Comment

Ram: 1GB DDR2 DIMM PC2-4200

I hear no post beeps at all.

Comment

Sounds like the ATX PSU that you're using to power your system doesn't sup0ply enough juice on the 12v rail to power your vehicle PC.

What does the sticker on the side of the ATX PSU say for +12v output?
        Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
        How about the Wiki?

Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

Comment

Is the RAM unbuffered, non-ECC, and non-registered?
          Fusion Brain Version 6 Released!
          1.9in x 2.9in -- 47mm x 73mm
          30 Digital Outputs -- Directly drive a relay
          15 Analogue Inputs -- Read sensors like temperature, light, distance, acceleration, and more
          Buy now in the MP3Car.com Store

Comment

11.5 amps. it's a rather old supply.

Comment

Originally posted by 2k1Toaster View Post