No announcement yet.

does your bass mess up your hard drive?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• does your bass mess up your hard drive?

Im new to this carputer thing, however im a well versed audio installer. I always assumed this would happen, but have finally proved it.....so to speak. My hard drive ( I assume...) can not handle anything above about 135 dbs. I want it in a vehicle hitting numbers over 160. Any suggestions?

First of all, where is it located in relation to the speaker?

Second, is it an automotive grade hard drive?

Third, and I'm sure you must be doing this in competitions, 160 decibels is louder than a jet engine at 100 feet (140 decibels) and 180 db causes the death of hearing tissue.

You must have a nice audio system.
    Originally posted by ghettocruzer
    I was gung ho on building a PC [until] just recently. However, between my new phone having internet and GPS and all...and this kit...Im starting to have trouble justfiying it haha.
    Want to:
    -Find out about the new iBug iPad install?
    -Find out about carPC's in just 5 minutes? View the Car PC 101 video

Comment

yes.....i do run competitions. im running 8 15 inch Kicker L7's with about 5k watts. i know i cant hear as good as you, but long story short, the speakers will be a fourt-horder sealde foward at the b pillar. However, the pressure is SO GREAT, that the sound comes from outside the car(1998 volvo v70), and disturdws the HD. I have to use a cd player. Now how can my cd player (cheap pioneer) my, and my ipod handle it right up front, anc comp in back freezes at high volume. It happenes even if im using the ipod through the radio, and only using pc for nav. by the way i have a 15 inch touch screen that is not phased by this insaine pressure. No i do not have an automotive hard drive.......simply a laptop one. thanks for your time....

Derek

Comment

how about just get SSD? if you have money for such audio stuff...

Comment