Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hardwiring a home based LCD monitor to a vehicle...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hardwiring a home based LCD monitor to a vehicle...

Hello,

I have noticed the 15" LCD has an AC to DC power supply and the same for various other devices. The thought occured, if these devices are basically powered via DC voltage would it be possible to hardwire them to the vehicle. I am mainly concerned about the LCD monitor. The power supply for it is basically 110VAC in and 12VDC @ 1250mA out. This is most likely to be the most campatible with the vehicles 12VDC voltage. I am looking for a little more insurance before I cut and splice etc. I am a seasoned noob when it comes low voltage. Any help will be appreciated.

Thank You

Leo

P.S.

I have attached to this eMail a photograph of the labeling on the power supply for the LCD monitor for refrence.
    Attached Files

You need regulated 12v power, at least 1.25A.
    If you have a supply for 12v regulated power, wiring this up should be a a piece of cake.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?

Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

Comment

i wouldnt wire it right in line to the cars power....cars voltage fluctates up to nearly 15v, i think that would kill the monitor....i have seen DC- DC convertes., that may work bretter for you

Comment

Originally posted by enohand View Post
        i wouldnt wire it right in line to the cars power....cars voltage fluctates up to nearly 15v, i think that would kill the monitor....i have seen DC- DC convertes., that may work bretter for you
        And that is why I said this:

Originally posted by DarquePervert View Post
        You need regulated 12v power, at least 1.25A.
        If you have a supply for 12v regulated power, wiring this up should be a a piece of cake.
        Car's electrical system is not regulated, plain & simple.
        How about the Wiki?

Comment