anybody use a PDA for control?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• anybody use a PDA for control?

i guess as an interface for a mini-itx or a shuttle setup? i was thinking you could use VNC software for this and basically remote control the PC? i here its slow has anyone tried this? thoughts? alternatives to using the VNC software? i mean we could go in thru the serial ports or we could use a wireless card or ?? i have some links to some palm os software that may work. or we could use a linux based PDA. im still new to this so you guys that have experience what ya think? i have read some of the forums here buts its gonna take some time to take it all in. i knwo the screen is small and i may add a VGA LCD later bur for the interim? i like it cuz i can take it when i leave the car. good security.

the proposed car pc will be replacing an eclipse 5504 that was damaged during an attempted theft < grinds teeth > .

I have made some experiments on this area.

i have the hp journada 525 running 802.11b.

It can only just start vnc and it will crash very shortly after.

I believe the main reason for this is the memory requirements is just to much for my pda.

Transfer rates arent impressive either. The pda cpu is fairly slow.

I have worked on two other types of setup. One webbased and on based on win.ce programming.

The web part of the project failed (due to incompability in the pda browser, and my limited skills in web programming).

I have made an interface in vb for ce. It works fairly well, but its still slow.

Long list of music causes waiting periods, etc.

But it is possible, i believe that there are several programs out there for both the win.ce and palms.

Hopes this helps you out a bit

Comment

I intend to someday. Make a basic web page and browse it with pocket IE.

Comment