No announcement yet.

newbie here, need opinions

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie here, need opinions

hell friends, i'm a newbie and amlooking for a caruter that i can run for thigs like surfing the web, checking emails, basically to have a netbook but built ito the car, would like to run XP pro for now but windows 7 at a later point when there are more car pc applications available for win 7. Also looking to do a skin or i guess its called a front so i can just click on on the windows desktop and switch it from a regular pc to a car stereo with NAV, and bluetooth and mp3 and video player just like a regular car stereo. This will be going into my 2002 mercedes clk that has a factory bose system with an bose factory amp. I'm not looking to replace any of my speakers or amp or wiring as i'm not a sound guy and like my factory system. so i was thinking of running this with a seperate touck screen monitor and use the PAK oem 2 to attach those RCA's to the factory wring harness to use my speakers, but i'm not sure if thats possible and if it would sound oem (nothing crazy) or do i need to purchase any other sound cards or something. and also please give me a honest opinion about this sytem. i dont really care about the WIFI because i will be using a AT&T usb data card to connect to the internet on the road and worste case senario i can buy a usb bluetooth and wifi dongle. Let me say thank you in advanced for taking the time to read this and guiding me. and happy new years.

Ow. Wall of Text.

I read it nonetheless, and your plans sound very reasonable.
    Have you looked in the FAQ yet?
    How about the Wiki?

Under normal circumstances, a signature would go here.

paragraphs can always help divide up your thoughts and make it easier to read. otherwiseitallsoundslikethiswhentherearenobreaks.

not sure what you mean by there not being too many carpc applications for win7..
      many here use win7 in-car with very little issues, including myself..