No announcement yet.

Newbie needs help.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie needs help.

Hello everyone, and thank you in advance for any info you can give me.

I am no newbie to forums, but this one i just stumbled upon.
    I am a member of several other forums and ALWAYS find them to be the richest source of help on the net.

I simply need some general direction and advise.

I am a jeeper, i have an old jeep that i drive daily as well as take off road as often as i can. As you can probably guess, a 1982 jeep doesnt exactly have a cadillac ride quality. and you really get beat up on the trails. all of this makes any form of CD technology useless in an old jeep. unless you like to listen to your music in small burps between skips.
    I currently have a minidisk player, which helps but still is limiting.

I decided the best way to go is to install a computer into my jeep.
    I could then play MP3 from the drive, i could run my GPS software on the PC, and use it as a dvd player or what not. (i am sure you guys all know that though)

I am a computer tech by profession, so i can do most everything myself.

I was originally going to just rig up a mount for my good laptop for the jeep, but that is big and in the way, and easy target for theft.

i was wondering if there is a good way to get a smaller cheaper system that can be run in the car that would allow me to do all i need without taking up lots of passenger space or comfort.
    I have heard of guys buying old laptops and taking the lcd out and mounting it remotely and then shoving the cpu portion out of the way.
    but then what do you do about keyboard and mouse?

I am sure someone in here, or many of you, have done or at least looked into this.

i dont want to spend a ton. (this vehicle sees alot of abuse, so to install a $2000 electronic setup in it would be insane)
    I just want a good cheap computer i can rig up in my car for MP3 GPS and Movies.