I'm a newbie to all this~~~~~please enlighten me

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a newbie to all this~~~~~please enlighten me

I'm very interested in setting up a comp. sys. in my car, but I 've a bunch of questions.
    - My budget is limited, so I'm looking forward to getting a relatively small LCD screen (not monochrome ones though). I will use the comp mainly for MP3. Which ones will u guys recommend??

- I found some on ebay that costs 100+ USD. I heard that those need a controller or something? is that true? and how does that work?

thx~~~

You can find a bunch on eBay but alot of the cheaper ones do need a controler card. Your best bet is to spend the extra money for an "all-in-one" TFT screen. Just look for ones that have a RCA input for video. The price varies alot when it comes to size. If you want to run Windows, Winamp or play movies, bigger is better. I wouldn't go for anything smaller than 5".

If you are going to just play MP3s and don't care much about video, then contact Arby for one of his great character LCD screens if he has any available.

Be sure to have an in-depth look at your car before buying a display. Figure out what room you have and what can fit in it.

Good luck, and welcome to the board!
    http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/Maveric/ M.A.V.I.C. System
    Asus MB, PII 266, 192 MB Ram, 6.8" LCD, 6 Disk CD-ROM, 21 Gig HD, All-in-Wonder Video w/ TV Tuner, Irman, Windows ME, Winamp, Cobra III -- All in a custom acrylic case.

http://www.mp3car.com/usersites/listings/ MP3car Listings - Please add to it! :)

Comment

Since my budget is limited, I think I'm looking for a setup that does the job with minimized cost.
      What 5.6" LCD would you guys recommend????
      again, i'm looking for something inexpensive.
      thx

Comment

Go for something like this:
        http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI...tem=1307342432

~ $100
        www.arbybean.com

Comment

thx for the url