No announcement yet.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hello

hello everyone...

well, i've been going through this forum for the past few days and i must say that it's definitely been an educational experience. i'm new to the concept of carputers, but after looking around, i've decided to give it a go. this forum is certainly a valuable reference, answer guide, and it's provided me with lots of ideas and opened my eyes to all the available options that are actually out there.

soooo... i've been trying to configure a setup that will accomodate my budget and do the things that i want it to do--mp3, dvd, gps, and eventually car diagnostics.

at first, i was going to limit my budget to $1000. i had planned on putting together a small pc utilizing a mini-itx motherboard. but after reading more and more, i've decided to use a laptop instead. why? because i'm fortunate enough to have a laptop lying around that i don't use all that often since i bought a desktop a few months ago. this should bring my spending down at least a few hundred dollars, which is always good. anyway, here are the specs:

compaq presario 2710
    1.13GHz PIII processor
    20GB hard drive
    16x dvd drive + 8x cd-r/rw drive
    VGA out + s-video out
    (2) USB 1.1 ports
    (1) PCMCIA slot
    ethernet port + modem

as you can see, it should be plenty powerful. although, i did have to send it out for repair today. the solder for the heatsink mounts tends to melt on this certain model. as a result, the processor wasn't receiving sufficient cooling and the entire pc would shut down once it hit that critical temperature. so they are going to replace them with screws instead of resoldering them back to the board. hopefully this does the trick.