Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• microATX vs MiniITX

Good day all:

I am new to this carputer creation, and I am currently in the planning stages of my own carputer. After reading through multiple, multiple threads I have a few questions.

As of now my proposed configuration is as follows:

Mobo/CPU Combo: AthalonXP 2600+ (not sure exactly the model no. for the mobo, but it has everything integrated)

HDD: 2.5", 60GB
    RAM: PC2100 512MB
    LCD: 7" touchscreen, in-dash (from digitalWW)
    DVD: slim drive, slot loaded

I believe that is a list of all the major components. Here is my issue. What are the benefits of using a MicroITX board as compared to the setup as listed above? I am learning more about the power supplies, and I really like the feature of the Opus where it automatically shuts down the pc. However, I will get more performance out of the Athalon.

As you can see my mind is very scattered. I have been researching for nearly 2 months now, and I am still coming up with questions. Another question I have is related to the Opus power supplies. If the power supply send the command to the pc to go to standby mode, will it remain in stay in standby mode until the car is started again? And if that is the case won't it cause the battery to drain?

Please, if possible, provide some information on these issues. Like I said, I am in the planning stages, and I am open to all comments and/or critisms.

Thank you in advance for your input.

Steve Racine
    [email protected]

2004 Pontiac Grand AM GT
    Progress [------------] 0% (Planning)
    [email protected]
    [xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx] 100% (Audio - Bumpin)
    [--------------------] 0% (CarPuter - Planning)

If you want to try to put the computer in a space the Micro ATX won't fit, but the Mini-itx will, then that is the biggest reason.

I am putting mine in a 7x7x2 1/8 box, that means I have to go with mini-itx. Power requirements and heat are two other reasons you touched on also.