Setting up a swtich to turn off inverter when computer turns off

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up a swtich to turn off inverter when computer turns off

Hey guys......just thought about this...

I am running an ATX mo-board through an inverter. The inverter is hooked up directly to my battery.

When I am getting ready to get out of the car, instead of waiting for the computer to complete hibernation, than manually switch off the inverter (since I don't want the inverter running when I leave the car) I wanted to know if I could hibernate the computer and have the inverter switch off automatically.

I was thinking of some sort of time-delay switch for the inverter. Is there some sort of small time-delay switch i could replace the inverter switch with? So, when I hibernate my computer, and than I switch the inverter off, after 10 seconds or so, the inverter would shut off?

I'm not an engineer nor am I an electrician, but I can learn these things quickly. If you're providing an opinion, please explain it - thanks!

-HD

will the computer still run?
    I GIVE FREE HUGS!
    Buy Sell or Trade
    If my pm box is full, please feel free to call me any time. 440-328-3382
    Thank you
    Forex
    Rate Mp3car @ FXroot.com

Comment

You want an ITPS

I was using an ITPS with my inverter. When turning off the ignition switch, the ITPS would tell my computer to shutdown/hibernate. After doing so I would have it cut the power to my relay that was inline of my inverter.

Worked pretty good. I've since moved onto the Opus 150 mostly to save space but an ITPS is what you are looking for.

Troy
      Done!

If you're into fishing, checkout my website! http://www.pennsylvaniaanglers.com

Comment

Originally posted by Troy McClure
        You want an ITPS