Toyota Rain Sensing Windshield Wipers

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toyota Rain Sensing Windshield Wipers

Have you guys seen the Avalon comercial where they mention wipers that come on automatically when it starts to rain????

Pretty cool....

I have been mulling over a simlar idea for a few years now, except I want the windows to be put up when it rains and the car is parked at work.... I leave the windows down in the summer when I am at work.... I hate a 150 deg car experience at the end of the day....

But in Texas it can (and will) rain at the drop of a hat... without warning....

Doing a Google search for "rain sensor" it is easy to make a little PC board and circuit to sense the rain..... and then power up the window motors, etc....

But I was wondering if anybody knew how Toyota did it with the Avalon..... a nice clean system would be cool...

Anybody know?

one clue I can give you is that lexus has the rain sensor built into the windshield, bmw, benz & jag, infiniti do the same......haven't looked into this further, but they all have sensors that are built into the windshield. I have seen add on aftermarket(dei maybe?) rain sensors though I think, start searching high end security accessories....good luck..........
    MY NEWEST INSTALL:modded infiniti fx with big screen

first windows carpc install........my liquid cooled LVDS screen :D

Comment

Would help knowing what car you have.

One problem with your idea: POWER! The computer cannot be in standby if the rain sensor is to tell it something. That means that the computer will have to be on from when u start work till when you finish. Not a very good idea for batteries.
      PowerVoice v1 | NaviVoice Source
      GammaControl v2.4
      SKINbedder v3

1995 Lexus SC300

Comment