Laptop HD vs. Reg one

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Laptop HD vs. Reg one

trying to decide which to use. are the main differences just going to be size and power difference? id prefer to use a normal ide hd so i can store more files, but i want to make sure that theres not a huge power difference between the two
    my setup - finally
    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=50494

laptop uses less power and is more shock resistant.

Comment

Physical size: The laptop is smaller
      Power consumption: laptop uses less
      Price for storage: the Desktop drive is way less expensive per Gig
      Durability: Some claim it matters and get the laptop drive. I have been using a desktop drive for more than 5 years without any trouble.

Do a search on 2.5 3.5 hard drive or laptop vs desktop

Lots of material, Any little bit of searching would have told you your answers.
      TruckinMP3
      D201GLY2, DC-DC power, 3.5 inch SATA

Yes, you should search... and Yes, It has been covered before!

Read the FAQ!

Comment

ahh, i did a search on the word harddrive as one word and only a few things came up, i need to work on my searching ability
        my setup - finally
        http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=50494

Comment

Try "hard drive" not "harddrive" Try the terms TruckinMp3 suggested.

Both work. Some swear 3.5" drives aren't reliable enough. I have used both. The only issue I had was using the ITPS with the 3.5" drive. Doesn't always supply the full power the drive needs and results in freeze up.

If you get a respectable power regulator like Opus or Carnetix, you won't have this problem. Given the low cost per gig of the 3.5", you could afford to buy 2 vs. a laptop. If you don't care whether your 3.5" ****s the bed and can easily reload the OS and software from a clone of the original drive, then that may sway your decision.