Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will this work?

Hello everyone, this is my first post.

Im putting together a carpc for my Bmw e46 and im considering the following combination since i have a centrino processor lying around at home:

Asus CT-479 CPU Adapter
    Asus P4P800 SE
    40 Gb notebook HDD
    Centrino 1.6 Ghz

Will this combination work and what kind of PSU would i need to feed the system with enough juice?

Will the CNX-P1900 Dual Output 140 Watt 12V DC-DC Regulator do the job?

Originally posted by marschwa

Im putting together a carpc for my Bmw e46 and im considering the following combination since i have a centrino processor lying around at home:

Asus CT-479 CPU Adapter
    Asus P4P800 SE
    40 Gb notebook HDD
    Centrino 1.6 Ghz

Will this combination work and what kind of PSU would i need to feed the system with enough juice?
    I am no expert on hardware, and in particular, the hardware you mentioned.

However, what do you mean by WORK? Why would it not? Carputers are VERY similar to desktop computers. If it will work in your house, it can be made to work in the car.

Now, if you are asking if that is a worthwhile system to build, that is a different story.

I have built a couple of carputers with left over desktop parts, and have been very happy with the results. Some people want the best computer they can make for the car, so thier specs will certainly outshine my specs.

Some people go for the smallest form factor they can, while I have never been very fascinated with that, cause I don't mind a larger box sitting in my trunk. You should decide what you want to accomplish with your system. Do you have issues with space. Do you need the latest and greatest hardware. How expensive do you want to make the system, or better yet, how much can you afford. Do you have parts laying around from older computers.