Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first "Carputer"

Hi everybody,

Im the owner of a 2004 Toyota Matrix. After seeing the job of a fellow matrix owner on matrixowners.com, I became inspired to start the project. So far I have just been rounding up some old computer parts. Here is what I have so far:

P4 1.5 ghz
    576 meg o ram (only pc133)
    A geForce 4 440mx (smallest card I had laying around)
    A CRAPtor 80gb hd.
    As for the Case I am using a 12x12x4 electrical box (hey, im an electrician )

Things I need to get:
    Touchscreen (think I found the one I like)
    bondo and another center bezel.
    slim DVD/CD.
    Either an opus PS or inverter... going to do a draw test.
    And some usb stuff too (GPS, controllers for gaming, wireless to the router, keyboard)

I do have a coupple of questions however. Mind you I have done a lot of FAQ searching here.

1. Does anyone with a P4 run an opus? 150w? I think im running to much stuff to have that small but comments are appreciated.
    2. Canadians.... what navagation software do you prefer?
    3. I have a Rockford fosgate 200s amp. Like this From my old van. I know extreemly little about car audio. Because I am removing and not using the HU, I was wondering if I could use this amp to power my speakers... I can easily use an m -> rca adaptor.. I just dont know if it will work past the amp. Im just not sure if it just would plain suck. My friends talk about this clipping stuff... Yeah.... over my head. Basically my question is, would it be better than the AC delco stock thing I have there now.

Thanks for your patence... and wish me luck.
    Process meter!
    CarPC [#######-] 90% (In, some loose ends)
    Audio [#######--] 80% (Rear speakers to be installed)
    Total in car [#######_-] 85% (mostly everything)

get the stuff you need and post your progress!

Comment