Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another inverter question.

Hello everyone,

Im new to the whole carputer concept. I have looked up this forum, it has helped me allot.

I finally decided to use a 12V(DC) to 230V(AC) inverter (300W). Then use a normal PC power supply (300W) who will bring the 230V(AC) signal, back to 12V(DC).

My ciggaretelighter powers ON and OFF when I switch the ignition, so I can use that for booting up the PC.

The ciggareteholder has a 10A fuse.

1* How much power (W) can I use max?
    2* What will happen with the PC when I turn the ignition OFF? Will it shut down, or completely shut off?
    3* How can I prevent it from shutting off? I want it to to calmy shut down, however, when power is gone how can it still run??

Thank you for your time.

why using an inverter first of all? need that much power?

the questions you ask would all be null and void by using a DC-DC PSU.
    Jan Bennett
    FS: VW MKIV Bezel for 8" Lilliput - 95% Finished

Please post on the forums! Chances are, someone else has or will have the same questions as you!

Comment

Yes I need more power, I will be using the inverter not only for the pc but also for charging my cellphone/laptop(work) and touchscreen.

Comment

I'd wire the TS into the car....depending on what kind it is...Lilliput or Xenarc or some other?

One way to get more power is to double up on the PSUs. It's been done successfully with the M series PSUs (M1/M2).

Generally, inverters are noisy, messy to install, a pain to use, etc.

How the inverter will act depends on if your cigarette lighter is on constant or ignition. If it's on ignition, the power will be cut to the PC when you pull the key. If it's on constant, you will run your battery down unless you sit and wait for the PC to shut down then turn off the inverter before you exit the vehicle.