Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blue LEDs under seats

Ok, in my new Paseo I'm getting tommorow,
    I think it would be really cool if I could put some Blue LEDs under the seats for indirect lighting. I would run them off the computers power supply, but its gonna be a while before I get that in, and I would like to set them up to be on when the car is on.

I would like to use
    these

The put out 10000 milli-candela at 20ma they cost 3.19$ a piece
    Or I can get ones that put out 3000mcd for 2.90$
    They are both 5.5 volt.

Do you think the 10000mcd are to bright? They will be going under the seats.

also, how do I step down 12volts from the battery to the 5volts needed for the LEDs? Wouldn't I have to worry about surges aswell? how could this be done? I'm not very good with electronics so please try to explain stuff.
    Clarion 200watt head unit w/ Aux in.
    Kicker 800watt 4 channel amp
    In a 96 Grand Prix SE.

Maybe I'm looking at the wrong LEDs but the ones you linked to have a vf or 3.5 volts (about right for blue LEDs) not 5.5v

You should be able to get by without a regulator as long as you calculate the resistor value for the worst case ie say 13volts from the battery.

Have a look at my LED page for information on resistor values

Rob

PS, You should know better and use the search button, the following where all posted in the last few days.

http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show...&threadid=8841
    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show...&threadid=8874
    http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/show...&threadid=8822
    And you say people actually pay money for M$ Windows?
    www.mp3mini.co.uk (Does what it says on the URL) www.openclassic.co.uk (The new car, with zero rust!) www.rob-web.co.uk (My other site)
    Total re-design underway: on the whole progress is very slow as the car is taking up too much time :)

Comment